Skip to content

Tiring but fun weekend…

October 23, 2010

On normal days, my weekends were spent either by chilling at home playing like an uber lazy potato couch or strolling the mall endlessly (mostly for window shopping…  echos!) with mom. But last weekend was extra different for me.

October 16, Saturday

My company organized a green project dubbed Save Mother Earth. Since I have never volunteered in any similar projects in the past, I got very much excited to be part of something for our dearest Mother Earth. I was even one of the first to register for activity. There were 2 activities in Metro Manila: Ipo Dam in Bulacan and Gourmet Farms in Silang. The Ipo Dam Tree Planting Activity was suited for the more adventurous volunteers as it involved boating and trekking. Since I’m a bit more maarte no longer that adventurous, I opted for the Silang trip as I wanted to learn something about being organic.

As early as 4:30 a.m., I was already on my way to the activity’s main pick-up point in Makati. Too early huh?! Another unusual thing for me as I’m not a morning person. Volunteers were required to come at least before 5:00 a.m. for the registration and bus assignments. Despite it being a well-planned activity, we were 1-hour behind the scheduled departure time. We arrived in Silang at around 8:30 a.m. and waited for other volunteers from the nearby branches to arrive. We then had a short orientation about the farm and how organic farming contributes to the improvement and preservation of nature. Oh hah, it’s like I learned a lot, LOL.

Shortly after that quick briefing, all volunteers were divided into groups and assigned to different farm activities. My team and I were asked to weed out some grass and other astray plants from the lettuce plantation. I tried to work as quietly as I can and concentrate on my weeding while I heard complaints from my teammates how hard it was. I even heard one say, “If I was home now, I would only be resting and watching DVD.” For me, it was too odd to hear complaints like those as no one forced them to volunteer. They were right though. For corporate people like us, doing something like that was a bit hard.  Then I thought, it’s easier to plant in Farmville than doing the actual work… plowing, seeding, broadcasting (the official farming term for putting organic fertilizers a.k.a animal manure) and harvesting were done in just one click of the mouse. And it’s way much easier if an FV farmer has purchased the tractor, seeder and harvester. Things would be faster than usual. For FV players, I’m sure you know what I am talking about here. LOL.

Although tiring, it was really a fun and fulfilling activity knowing that we have done something for and learned how to take care of Mother Nature. And it was stomach-filling when Gourmet Farm treated us to a sumptuous organic slash Mediterranean lunch. See how yummy and inviting the food was:

And that ended our tree planting activity in Gourmet Farms.

As initially planned, my colleagues and I went straight to Tagaytay. 

First stop was the Pink Sisters’ Convent. Just like an ordinary visitor, we spent some quite time to pray. It was nice to be back there. It made me remember some important memories from my past… which I won’t share in this entry. LOL.

Then, off to another important activity… ukay-ukay shopping! Being an ukay fanatic, it slipped to me there were ukay shops in Olivares Shopping Complex along Aguinaldo Hi-way. Thanks to our senior office who took us to the place. We spent roughly 3 hours to at least 4 ukay stores. And just like any other ukay shopping activity, I panicked. I ended up buying branded jackets and trench coats at prices you could never imagine. LOL.

 

October 17, Sunday

 

I again started my day early as I was among the registered participants of the Blue Water Day Spa Fun Run in MOA. Since the 5K runners gun-time (Oh yes, I registered for that lotsa distance!) was scheduled at 5:20 a.m., I was again on the road before 5:00 a.m. And this time, I dragged Mommy with me.

It was my first time to run that distance and I was still having doubts if I could finish the marathon. I started running with one of my colleagues. But since I had a slower pace than her, she left me and I run on my own. Good thing, I try to run every weekend so it did not tire me out as easily as before. After the 3K distance, I started to feel a bit exhausted and walked for awhile. I tried to regain my strength and I started to run again. It felt good when I saw the finish line. I wasn’t much concerned on the time so I just maintained my pace. When I was getting near the finish line, I saw Mommy standing.  I waved at her and she waved back at me with a big smile on her face. It was such a nice finish for me. My official run time was 41 minutes. Well, not bad for a first-time 5k runner. That’s my own opinion though. LOL

After a short breakfast with 2 of my colleagues, Mom and I went straight home. I needed to rest for a while as I still have another scheduled appointment later that morning. Well, when I checked my mobile phone on our way home, there were already messages from one of my grade school classmates confirming our small get-together.

At 11 a.m., I met up with one of my female grade school classmates whom I last saw when we graduated from elementary in 1987. Yes, it has been 23 years since we last saw each other. It was kinda surprising to know that the bond we had more than 2 decades ago was still there.

We went to Greenbelt 3 to meet up with 2 other classmates. Apparently, they were our classmates from Grades 1 to 3… so the last time we saw them was in 1985. We initially met up with our male classmate and waited for the other as she came from a far far away land called Farview. Ooops, Fairview pala! LOL. I was again surprised that our female classmate immediately recognized me (us) and called me be my real name. Hmmm, I guess my facial features did not change much. Since it was way past lunch time and all of us were dead hungry already, our male classmate took us to Jupiter and was thinking of having lunch at some videoke bar there.  It a bit too early for videoke so we ended up having lunch at a nearby Chinese restaurant.

It was really fun catching up with each other. We had so much to talk about. Fun stories when we were much younger. Nice things that we are experiencing now. And surprisingly, even the not-so nice things were inexplicitly shared.  I then thought, these friends are really the ones worth seeing slash keeping. As compared to other get-together stories that I have heard in the past, I felt no pretentions nor the I-came-to-see-you-because-I-wanna-brag-how-successful-I-am kinda attitude. All went there just to catch up and reconnect with each other. I have a good feeling that it was the start of a new close bond with my long lost friends slash classmates.

Hope to see you soon, guys!🙂

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. IKAY permalink
    October 23, 2010 7:39 am

    wow ang saya nman ng weekend mo ate wink🙂

    at ang arteeh! nung isang teammates mo ha! eh volunteer nga di ba, wlang pilitan hmp! at tsaka at first plang nman alam nya na cguro kung ano ang pupuntahan nyo at gagawin nyo, kalokah sya!…hehe (pasensya nman nag-init lang ang ulo ko).

    at ganyang get together din ang gusto kong maattenand, nung nakita ko nga yung mga classmates ko nung elem. sa facebook natuwa tlaga ako, kc after a one and half decade eh ngkaron ulit kmi ng communications..yun lang yung isa na pinaka close friend ko nung elam. eh dedma ever na lng sya, though inaccept nman nya yung friend request ko..pero hindi nman ngrereply kpag kinukumusta ko..kaya dedma ko nlng sin sya.

    at ang haba na pla nitong comment ko…bwahaha!
    ^__^

  2. October 24, 2010 9:02 am

    kakatuwa naman yung sa kalabaw! kahet laking probinsya ako, never ko pa na-try mag-plow gamit ang kalabaw! hmm…gives me an idea on what to do nxt summer sa probinsya! hehe

  3. jopet permalink
    October 25, 2010 6:52 am

    official na bes. magsasaka ka na talaga🙂

  4. November 15, 2010 6:08 am

    can’t still forget the taste nong mga nakain natin don. hahaha. hhmmmm.. di bale pagbalik mo naman don. hahaha. kasma mo si…… pasalubong ha? bka sa daan palang kumakain ka na eh. hahahah. =)

  5. November 18, 2010 10:48 am

    Wow, sobrang busy ang weekend.

    Congrats for completing the fun run.

  6. November 25, 2010 12:17 am

    so ngayon alam mo na kung pa’no yong feeling ng tunay ng pagpa-farm?hehe

Leave a Reply

