Skip to content

A piece of me in the eyes of a cousin…

September 30, 2010

Yesterday, I received a text message from a cousin who now lives in the province. It was just last year, I think it was Christmas season, when I saw her again for the first time in years. She left our neighborhood maybe more than a decade ago to live a new life in the province. She really did not age much when I saw her last year. But when she saw me, the first thing she said was, “Kid, ikaw na ba yan?!” (Kid, is that you now?!). I didn’t know if you should get offended or what. Well maybe, I really aged big time. LOL

Just a brief backgrounder, my cousin and I were never really close when I was younger. She was more than 10 years older than me so we belong to different generations. When I was still a teener, she already had a family of her own. Most of the things were different for the two of us. But I guess, we share one thing similar. We were both snobs. LOL. Even at a very young mind, I felt that she never liked me or just be around me. She never liked my guts nor my attitude. For one, I was bratty when I was younger (up to now, I think) and wasn’t too friendly. I kept myself busy with studies and did not interact with them much. So among the cousins, I was really the outcast. But it never bothered me. I was living in my own little world then.

But last year’s encounter erased all that. When she approached us, Mom and I instantly invited her inside our house to have a small chat. We did not talk much about the not-so-nice things in the past but rather the happy on-goings in each of our lives. Since then, she started to communicate with us (so it’s true, I’m the one who is the snob as I don’t initiate communication or maybe I’m just too busy with work… echos!) even with just a simple “Hi! How are you?” And that’s the exact thing that happened yesterday. But it transpired to something touchy when she started texting this to me:

Alam mo Kid, kinukwento kita sa mga anak ko dito kung paano ka naging isang mabuting bata noong araw. Si (name of eldest child) parehas mo rin syang matalino kaya hindi ko sila mapabayaan na 3 dahil lahat sila matatalino. Si (name of eldest child) nag-graduate ng salutatorian sa elementary. Second year high school na siya ngayon. Si (name of 2nd child) 1st year at si (name of 3rd child) Grade 4 naman.

I was still preparing my reply message to her when I received her follow up text:

Si T’yang Floring, napakaswerte nya sayo dahil mabait at matalinong bata ka noong araw. Swerte ka rin sa kaniya dahil sya ang naging Mommy mo. Simula’t bata ka pa lang, nakita ko na kung gaano ka nya kamahal.

I had to re-write my reply and I sent her this:

Kaka-touch naman ang text mo, ‘te. Pinipilit ko lang suklian ang binigay nina Mommy at Tatay sa akin. Yung mag-aral ng mabuti was the least I could do. Mabait sa akin si Mommy kaya she more than deserves all the good things that she is experiencing now. Ikaw din, ‘te. I’m sure ibabalik sayo ng mga anak mo ang pag-aalaga mo sa kanila. Nakakatuwa at matatalino silang lahat. Mana ba sa ina?

She instantly replied me with:

Hindi sa akin. Sa iyo.

I just smiled when I read that. And so I told her that I think it would be nice if I get to meet her children someday soon. She hoped to bring the eldest though on her next visit to Manila.

That short exchange of text messages really meant something to me. I never thought that people like her would have that impression about me. I know, I can be rough on the outside, a snob at times and a wicked little girl most of the time. Well, that’s who I really am in the eyes of people who don’t know me too well. Maybe, just maybe, a person only needs to look a little harder in order to see the real me… just like that… in the eyes of my cousin.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 30, 2010 2:06 pm

    Weeh!!!! Base!!! Oha oha!!!

    “Maybe, just maybe, a person need to look a little harder in order to see the real meโ€ฆ just like thatโ€ฆ in the eyes of my cousin.”

    gustong gusto ko tong line na to ate,๐Ÿ™‚
    at kaya wala akong masabi. ako kaya kelan ako makakareceive ng ganyang text!?

    ps.
    ate pwede forward mo na lang sa akin yun text!? para at least nakarecieve na ko. hahaha
    :))

    naks, bumebase na ah! hehehe!

    wait… forward ko sayo yung text. now na! hahaha!

  2. jopz permalink
    September 30, 2010 2:17 pm

    hi bes๐Ÿ™‚ ako, i didn’t have to look hard. i saw it right away. there was no roughness on the outside… what i saw was a person willing to help out a colleague as best as she could even when her workload demanded a lot from her. i saw a sensitive person, willing to spend time with a friend and listen… just be there to listen. i could go on and on… as i’m sure a lot of others could too. so to keep it short, i’d just like to thank you for being my friend. hey, have a great day! God bless.

    anu ba bes, napaluha naman ako sa comment mo. am so touched!๐Ÿ™‚ well, we have gone a long way and shared lots of nice moments of friendship together. and the distance between us was never a hindrance to keep that friendship going. in fact, i think, it got us even closer. right? well, you know im thankful as well to have you as my friend. and we can’t forget each other for as long as we live… esp on april 24! lol

    have a great one too, bes! miss emailing with u๐Ÿ™‚

  3. October 1, 2010 1:55 am

    grabe… sobrang flattering naman mga sinabi nya sayo.. nakakataba ng puso ano ate winkie? alam ko naman kasing 100% totoo sinasabi nya about you kasi nakikita rin namin talaga sayo mga ganong traits eh

    ate winkie!!!

    para namang inuuto mo lang ako dyan sa comment mo, jezon eh! hehehe!

    • October 4, 2010 12:28 am

      totoo naman talaga yon! kitang kita na kagad lahat yon nung nagpunta kami sa bahay mo๐Ÿ™‚

  4. October 1, 2010 1:55 am

    ate winkie kelan me pwede makadalaw ulet dyan sa inyo???

    tumbling ka lang papunta sa min. lapit lapit lang ng opis mo eh! hehehe!

    ung payong mong pangit, isang taon na sa min ah!๐Ÿ˜›

    yung payong ko!!!

    hohohoho

    • October 4, 2010 12:28 am

      kibrella kaya yon

      WAHahahahahah

  5. eloy permalink
    October 1, 2010 3:00 am

    You’re the best daughter i have known. and a great friend…all in all u aren’t so bad urself…he he he…musta mare!

    wow, am so touched! great friend ba yung di bumibisita sayo? hehehe! pasensya na, nagbubusy-busyhan lagi. i really hope to visit you very soon. gawaan mo ko ng cake ah! hehehe!

  6. IKAY permalink
    October 2, 2010 6:41 am

    Welcome back! (d na kc ako nakapag comment dun sa nauna mong post d2….hehehe)

    hmmm…oh well, wishing well! buti na lang nung nakilala kita d2 sa blogging world eh hindi ka na SNOB ahihi! joke!
    Pero baka dahil lang din cguro sa age gap nyo kya kayo medyo hindi gnun kainteresado noon sa isa’t- isa. ^_^

    pa HI kay mudra paki sabi pagaling sya!
    na miss ko teh!

    Ikay!!!! Na-miss ko rin toh! Kulitan galore sa comments section. Hehe!

    Naku noh, snob pa rin ako up to now… sa personal! Parang artista lang! Whehehe!

    Hi din daw sabi ni Mudra๐Ÿ™‚

  7. October 13, 2010 7:46 pm

    First of all, welcome back sis!!! Pareho tayo, kakabalik lang. Hehe.

    Mabait ka naman talaga Winkz! Matalino pa! Maganda pa. Uyy hindi ako nambobola ha. Sinabi ko lang ang totoo. Kaya nga na realize ko na ang dami pa lang lalaki na bulag kasi hanggang ngayon di ka pa rin nila nakikita. Malas lang nila. Or baka may nagmamamay-ari na sa puso? Naks!

Leave a Reply

