Skip to content

Happy Easter to all!!!

April 4, 2010

According to history, Easter is the most important and festive day in the Christian calendar year as it celebrates Christ’s resurrection three days after his Crucifixion. Having this as a fact, I just wonder how Easter Sundays were celebrated thousands of years ago.

When I was still in my younger years, Mom would normally organize a small private Easter party just for the kids in our family. We would always get so very busy every Black Saturday decorating eggs which will be later on used for the most famous Easter Egg Hunting. Those nicely painted eggs were normally hid in unexpected places inside our house. My cousins and I were given decorated baskets where we would put all those precious Easter eggs that we found. And one with the most number of eggs gets the grand prize. Being one of the youngest among the cousins, my basket would normally end up empty. So, I would just run to my room, cry my heart out and feel pity for myself. My older cousins would then give me one egg each… making me the one with the most number of eggs. Well, Mom never gave me the prize because that’s not the rule of her game. But hey, at least I’ve got some Easter eggs in my basket. LOL. Come to think of it, I was really a spoiled little brat… but in a very subtle way. Hahaha!

But hey, have you ever thought why Christ’s Resurrection or the so-called Easter Sunday is celebrated with eggs? Well, I tried to stoke my keys and googled my way to seek for answers. And here’s the most believable explanation I’ve found:

Eggs have always been associated with the Easter celebration. Nearly every culture in the modern world has a long tradition of coloring eggs in beautiful and different ways.

The origin of the Easter egg is based on the fertility lore of the Indo-European races…The egg to them was a symbol of spring…In Christian times the egg had bestowed upon it a religious interpretation, becoming a symbol of the rock tomb out of which Christ emerged to the new life of His resurrection.

The True Origin of Easter

Before I went for long vacation, I received an early Happy Easter email from one of my colleagues. I was expecting to see those usual holiday greetings with typical-looking Easter eggs like these:

But I was wrong!!! Because these are what I saw:

Some eggs, eh? Well, at least now we know how-slash-what eggs feel when we try to make them into Easter eggs… or just plain breakfast. LOL.

Happy Easter to all!!!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. April 4, 2010 4:07 am

    happy easter ate winks, hehe..
    ung ibang itlog nakita ko sa tublr haha..
    ang kukulet ng itsura eh noh, ahha..

    at dahil april na nalalapit na ang disneyland mo hehe..:)

    happy easter, lablee! first time ko to see those pics. nakakatuwa sila😛

    oo nga eh, excited na ako to be with mickey mouse on my bday! advance happy birthday, lablee!🙂

  2. April 4, 2010 6:17 am

    hahaha :)) kakyute nman ng mga eggs…
    habang binabasa ko sa umpisa itong entry mo, nsa isip ko na na itanong sayo kung anong connection ng itlog sa easter…pero meron din plang sagot dun…hehehe! ang galing girl scout…nyahaha

    “Come to think of it, I was really a spoiled little brat… but in a very subtle way”…abat’t bakit parang may nararamdaman akong may pagka defensive d2??bwehehehe

    HAPPY EASTER ate winks pati kay mader! mawh

    actually, yun ang main intention ng entry ko eh. correlation ng easter and egg. ngayon alam na natin, hehehe!

    eto naman, binura ko na nga ung statement, napansin pa! hahahaha!

    happy easter, rons!🙂

  3. April 5, 2010 2:40 am

    hahaha..ang ko-cute ng mga itlog.

    happy easter!

    happy easter too, kuya eli😛

  4. April 7, 2010 7:50 am

    Hahahahah! Naaliw ako. ANg kyut-kyut!😆

    At thanks, I learned something new today. Hehehe🙂

    Happy Easter, AC!

  5. April 13, 2010 10:26 am

    hmn.. may natutunan din naman ako… yung tungkol sa easter egg…😀

  6. April 13, 2010 8:21 pm

    Sobrang late ko na di nlng ako mag greet ng Happy Easter. Parang panis na tlaga. Haha. But these eggs are so cute. I wish I could draw as nice as these.

    Hope all is well with you WInkz!!

  7. April 14, 2010 5:30 am

    Happy Easter!!😀

  8. jason permalink
    April 18, 2010 3:08 am

    ang kyut ng mga itlog ate winkie!!

    happy easter!!

    awts. late na ko bumati..

    ate winkie namiss kita ah!😀

  9. jason permalink
    April 18, 2010 3:18 am

    nakakaawa po yung sa kumukulo

  10. jason permalink
    April 19, 2010 2:37 am

    nasan si ate winkie ko!!! asan ka!

  11. jason permalink
    April 24, 2010 1:39 am

    ATE WINKIE!! HAppy birthday sayo hah!!!!

  12. Mr. Nonsense permalink
    April 26, 2010 2:08 pm

    …atleast, sa langit ang punta nila.

  13. April 28, 2010 2:12 am

    hi winks. thoroughly enjoyed this one.🙂

    katuwa naman si mommy mo at talgang me easter egg hunt. wala kami niyan and never ko naexperience ang magkaron ng easter egg hunt. now we have three toddlers at home (2 are mine and one is my sister’s) at pag mejo kaya nang sumabay ng bunso ko, palagay ko magpapaeaster egg hunt din ako. sarap talaga maging bata.

    thanks for the free info as well.

    at ang mga itlog…kakaaliw. very expressive sila, in fernez.🙂

  14. May 1, 2010 10:40 am

    ang tyaga mo mag basag ng itlog! kumusta kana winkie!!

  15. April 1, 2012 5:33 am

    cute ng mga eggs!!!

  16. April 1, 2012 5:35 am

    cute ng mga eggs kahit na teterrorized sila he he!

Leave a Reply

