Skip to content

The year that was…

January 11, 2010

Yeah, I know, I have been uber slow in posting lately. Well, blame it to someone I’m starting to hate now. I so got busy checking on him and made me freaking mad to learn that he is a freaking liar! And to that guy, watch me do my revenge. *evil laugh* I have just been busy with a lot more interesting things  plus the fact that I turned into an regular resident at  Bobba Bar in my iTouch. Maybe I will tell you more about that Bobba Bar thingie when I get a chance some time in the near future. LOL.

And since I wasn’t able to post an entry last New Year, I want to make up for the lost time and make this a 2-in-1 entry. That is because, today marks a special day for me here in the blogosphere. Today, I celebrate my 1st anniversary as  a  WordPresser. Hence, the title “The Year That Was”.

As some of you know, I started to blog when I was still in Friendster as I wanted to improve on my English writing skills update all my friends about some of my important and worthy-to-share ongoings . I was really having fun at Friendster then, until suddenly, my  old-time friend slash high school classmate, Jhoen a.k.a. Rev Siopao (who apparently is in haitus now due to his new life as a priest) tried to convince me to move my blog to WP. He thought I could reach a larger audience if I’d do that. But then again, I was blogging just for my friends at Friendster. Then, another new found blogger friend,  Kuya Rudy a.k.a. snglguy, convinced me to move out of Friendster as it took time to load my page from his end. He thought it might be one of the reasons why I don’t have much readership. After a few days, those two consistently convinced me to migrate. And on January 11, 2009, I have finally decided to be a WordPresser… and Winkie’s World was born.

Know what are the 2 major things that WP brought/taught me?

First, it drew me closer to writing and made me wanna share things slash stories to people I have never met.

photo nabbed from marketingzone.co.uk

And second, made me gain new friends. Some I have already met personally (guys and gerls, you know who you are) and some I have yet to see in person… but either way, I felt special  connection to each one of them.

EB Babes: Joycee, Star, Kikay, sioPao and Azul

Grand Tivoli EB: Lei, Yhen, Rye, Lovely, Jason, Ax, Otep, Joycee, Moi, mystery blogger, Eli, Taympers and Kengkay

And I’d like to thank WordPress for those.😉

But now, let me give you a very quick rundown of the things that happened to me in 2009:

January

  • Got a major zit problem that made me freaking sad at the start of the year
  • My first time again in years to celebrate the Feast of the Nazarene in Quiapo
  • Met a blogger for the first time

February

  • Got featured as Rye’s first-ever Peek of the Week
  • Booked an ultra cheap promo fare for Mom’s birthday in October
  • Completed my stint as a Real Change Leader (RCL) at work… this meant I got extra moolah from my employer! LOL

March

  • Secured Boracay booking… and was extemely happy and excited to come back to Bora!

April

  • My birthday month.
  • Had an uber busy birthday celebration: lunchtime at Friday’s with Mommy, Potchie and April, dinner at Dad’s with college best pals Jing and Beth and inuman session at Gilligan’s with co-RCLs.
  • Celebrated Easter at Tahanang Nasaret… glad to be back home🙂

May

  • Had a quick escapade in Bora with Mommy and 2 other colleagues.

June

  • Had a fun night with the girls from the blogosphere.

July

  • Joined Mon’s Love Emo Writing Contest… my first time to ever join such a contest.

August

  • Bagged the grand prize in Mon’s Love Emo Writing Contest… and got a me cool love-themed shirt! LOL
  • Got sad with the passing of Tita Cory (close kami, bakit ba?!)

September

  • Met with a larger group of bloggers… both local and international! LOL.
  • Got struck by Ondoy… my first time to ever experience flood inside the house. Took a toll on my wallet big time! LOL.

October

  • Took Mommy to Thailand and Vietnam for her 74th birthday celebration… yep, I’m completely aware that I’m not yet through with my travel escapade entries. Four more entries to go. I hope to post them soon.
  • Got featured in Women’s Health Magazine… very showbiz talaga!!! LOL.

November

  • Noticed a small lump on my neck… and started my year-end agony.
  • Went to visit Tatay on his birthday.

December

  • Attended Fr. Jhoen’s ordination to priesthood and his first-ever Thanksgiving mass.
  • Underwent a lot of tests and consultation.
  • Experienced ultrasound and CT scan for the first time.
  • Got extremely happy to know that the lump is just a swollen lymp node.
  • Went back to Cavite to visit Tatay and cried my heart out.
  • Got transferred to a new department at work… I hope everything will be well in 2010 for us all.

So, that was it. If you’d notice, there were grand things that happened to me in 2009 but I have equally experienced some not-so-good things. Still, I feel blessed to be alive and be where I am now. God is really good all the time!

Hmmmm… I wonder what are the things that await me in 2010. I hope something better than these. Let’s just wait and see.

So now, late as I may seem, please allow me to greet…

24 Comments leave one →
  1. January 12, 2010 1:14 am

    Happy Anniversary Winkie at sa iyong blog… more blessing to come!

    maraming salamat sandi! more blessing to u too🙂

  2. January 12, 2010 3:07 am

    Sana next year yung rundown mo may “grand happening” na about lovelife. Hihi..😉

    actually ac, yan ang gusto kong grand thingie for this year. nahiya lang akong isulat. hehehe!

    • January 16, 2010 4:51 pm

      Game! Wahahahaha!

  3. IKAY permalink
    January 12, 2010 9:36 am

    “Hmmmm… I wonder what are the things waiting for me in 2010. I hope something better than these. Let’s just wait and see”.

    eh ang gastos nmang umattend jan sa pinakaabangan mong mangyayari syo this year eh…nyahaha!!

    pero sana nga this year na yun (crossed fingers)…hehehe

    happy new year too! muawhugs

    hahaha… eto naman, ano naman ang magastos dun. basta redi lang ang passport pag kinasal ako ah! hehehe!

  4. January 12, 2010 10:29 am

    oi ayun oh.. hehe may billing ako dito.. yey!

    at parang ganto din yung latest entry ko. first post ko for 2010.. hahah kalain mong parehu tayo Ms Winkie.. apirr!! ^^

  5. January 12, 2010 12:27 pm

    per of all, pa happy aniv hehe..medjo nalalapit lang pala ung aniv natin ate, 1 month lang, lang pagitan. at pareho pa tayo na sa friendster nagsimula hehe..woot..

    sana makasama ko ulit kayo this yr. dito bago pa man ako umalis hehe..:))
    at sa sex tayo kakain hehe..:))

    at sana this yr din maulit ang susunod na Grand EB2 hehe..
    ang iba na nabanggit mo puro blessings..sarap..

    see u soon ate, sa birthday mo ulit at sa birthday ko hehe..:))

  6. January 12, 2010 12:51 pm

    Hope next year makakagawa din ako ng review kung anu nangyari sa blog ko. Happy Anniversary po. Marami pang blessing at magagandang karanasang sasapitin at matatamo mo dahil sa mabuti ka.

  7. January 12, 2010 1:57 pm

    Happy 2010
    and happy 1st blogging anniversary
    we hope we can last for a year and post our own “The year thet was”

    Apir!

  8. January 12, 2010 2:02 pm

    Happy 2010 Winks & Happy Blogiversary!🙂

    Sayang namiss ko yang Grand EB na yan! Hopefully this year eh magkita-kitz narin.

    Take care always. GBU🙂 *hugs*

  9. Mr. Nonsense permalink
    January 13, 2010 12:52 am

    yeay winkie! si ate wnikie ang may kasalanan kaya nagblog ako…and she got me from “hello…o…o…o” thank u po.

  10. January 13, 2010 2:04 am

    whoah! late na late na rin ako.. babati na lang ako, happy 2011 para advanced! oha!

  11. January 13, 2010 2:55 am

    Happy anniversary sa blog mo ate winkie! Nice to meet you last year! I saw my ate in you, hehehe…

    More entries to come! Cencia na ngaun lang ulet ako nakadalaw, sobrang busy with life kasi, hehehe.. See u again soon! Godbless!

  12. January 13, 2010 6:42 am

    happy blogging anniversary!

    sana next year, happy anniversary with mr. right na.

  13. dencios permalink
    January 13, 2010 7:12 am

    haba, haha. buti na lang at kumain muna ko bago ko natapos lahat. recap pala ito😀. well, have a blast this 2010, winkie.

    GBU

    dencios

  14. monzavenue permalink
    January 13, 2010 7:32 am

    patambay po Miss Winkie. How’s yer day ^^

  15. January 13, 2010 7:34 am

    teka again. kasi di lumabas kanina yung comment ko.

    hehe

    patambay po. how’s ur day? i hope it’s been good. Have great one ^^

  16. January 13, 2010 9:43 am

    wow gusto ko din EB.hahaha

  17. January 14, 2010 6:14 am

    happy 2010 Ms. winkie!🙂

  18. January 15, 2010 9:48 am

    wow galing na rundown.. sana someday may magagawa din akong ganyan lalo na sa blog ko.. pabisita po..

  19. aperockstar permalink
    January 15, 2010 6:25 pm

    Wishing you a better/hotter year Winkie!

    *im not sure why I keep blurting the word ‘hot!’ when Im visiting your blog. lol.

  20. January 15, 2010 11:27 pm

    ang dami palang kaganapan nung 2009. ^^
    keep on blogging!

  21. January 18, 2010 8:27 pm

    woah!

    late ako! pasensya na….uber busy mode….sirang sira na nga ang body clock ko e😦

    heniweys, ang saya ng 2009 no? Here’s wishing you a more enjoyable and unforgettable 2010

  22. January 19, 2010 6:18 pm

    gaya ni kikay, late din ako. haha. sorry, winkz.

    napansin ko, majority sa 2009 events mo eh alam ko..nabasa ko.😉

    wishing you a fruitful and joyous 2010!!

  23. Mr. Nonsense permalink
    January 22, 2010 6:17 am

    hi winkie, musta na neck mo? pwede bang kagatin ko na lang?😛
    malapit na ang valentines🙂

Leave a Reply

