Skip to content

That special guy in my life…

November 30, 2009

I’m still not through with my travel entries. Yep, mahaba pa po ang kwento ko. I still have 2 entries to post. So, watch out for that! Whehehe! I just need to make this very special entry to a very special guy in my life.

Today, that special guy is celebrating his birthday. I remember when I was younger, we would spend it as simple as we could. We would only hear mass in the morning and after that, have simple celebration at home. He sometimes invited some of his friends over to celebrate it with him.

Life is not the same anymore. We don’t hear mass together. My mom and I still do though. We would normally go to visit his place and say a short prayerΒ for him. Today, that special guy in my life could have been 67 years old.

Yesterday, we went to see him. We were a day ahead because there’s something I need to do today. We were picked up by her younger sister. And while we were on our way to his place, I started to cry when I heard this song being played on the radio.

Back when I was a child
Before life removed all the innocence
My father would lift me high
And dance with my mother and me and then

Spin me around till I fell asleep
Then up the stairs he would carry me
And I knew for sure
I was loved

If I could get another chance
Another walk, another dance with him
I’d play a song that would never, ever end
How I’d love, love, love to dance with my father again

Ooh, ooh

When I and my mother would disagree
To get my way I would run from her to him
He’d make me laugh just to comfort me, yeah, yeah
Then finally make me do just what my mama said

Later that night when I was asleep
He left a dollar under my sheet
Never dreamed that he
Would be gone from me

If I could steal one final glance
One final step, one final dance with him
I’d play a song that would never, ever end
‘Cause I’d love, love, love to dance with my father again

Sometimes I’d listen outside her door
And I’d hear her, mama crying for him
I pray for her even more than me
I pray for her even more than me

I know I’m praying for much too much
But could You send back the only man she loved
I know You don’t do it usually
But Lord, she’s dying to dance with my father again
Every night I fall asleep
And this is all I ever dream

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Dear Tatay,

It would be really nice to dance with you again. But come to think of it, we never really danced. There were no grand celebrations that made us dance together as I was too young when you were taken from us. It’s sad that you weren’t able to see me become the lady I am today. I guess, college days were more meaningful for me if you were around. Because it was you who wanted to see me get that higher education that you and Mom were not able to accomplish for yourselves. So, thank you for encouraging me.

I turned 18 when I was about to finish college. Too bad, you never danced with me when I turned into a woman. It wasn’t grand though as Mom didn’t have the resources to throw an extravagant party for me. It was just a simple one. Just like my other birthday parties we used to celebrate at home. Just for close friends and relatives.

I never turned into a flight stewardess that you have been wishing for me to become. They said I don’t meet the basic requirement… height, that is! Sayang noh, sana pala pinakain mo ako ng Star Margarine nung bata pa ako. But I don’t have any regrets. I have been in the corporate world all my professional life. And guess what, ‘Tay? I also get to ride on airplanes now. I take Mommy to see places that we have never seen before… on my personal expense though. If only you were with us now, I bet you would also love to travel and explore new places. I know it would be a bit too expensive for me to take you and Mom at the same time, but I don’t care. I would not trade that travel moments with you and Mom for anything in this world. Mom and I are having so much fun seeing new things. I’m sure that you will enjoy to explore new places with us too. And I would buy you the things that you desire. So, no more asking of old stuff/clothes from your brother. You could own brand new ones… and maybe, branded items too!

I’m pretty sure you know that I have been sad and worried lately. My nights are spent praying and crying. I hope that everything will be ok for me. But I really wish you were here with me now. I really need someone whom I can draw strength from. And I completely know that you can be that “someone” because you have always given me strength when I’m at my weakest.

Okay, I won’t keep this long. I know you and Mama Lola are having a grand celebration there. Please kiss her for me and tell her that I miss having her around.

Happy birthday, Tatay! Mommy and I truly miss and love you.

Β 

Love,

Β 

24 Comments leave one →
  1. dencios permalink
    November 30, 2009 9:05 am

    base muna ko ha

    bilis ah!πŸ˜›

  2. dencios permalink
    November 30, 2009 9:09 am

    na touch ako. hindi ko alam yung pakiramdam mo pero na touched ako talaga sa sobrang pagka miss mo. keep praying and sigurado lagi kang ginagabayan ng father mo at i am sure proud sya of what you have been.

    well, i miss him every single day. i always think, how would it be if we have him around up to now.

  3. November 30, 2009 9:46 am

    Ooh happy birthday to your Dad if nasaan man sya, i can tell he’s ok and surely he’s happy now..
    Perfect song!

    salamat tsi!

  4. November 30, 2009 10:41 am

    hu hu hu.. ngayon lang ulit ako nadalaw sa site mo, pinapaiyak mo pa ako.. hu hu hu.. wrrrrsssstttt!! pengeng tissue dyan.. tulo na uhog ko..

    prrsssssttt!

    ay, sorry naman! teka teka, may tissue ako dito. pwede na ba ang wet ones? hehehe!

  5. November 30, 2009 11:07 am

    naibulong mo ba ate ang pabati ko sknya..
    ngayon ko lang narinig ung kantang yan at sobrang na teary eyed naman ako..nice song..
    ang saya nga talaga kung magkakasama kayo sa lahat ng naging travel nyo ni mommy pero alam mo rin na kasama nyo pa rin sya di ba..(guardian angel si dad)

    ibinulong ko kahapon, lablee. maraming salamat dawπŸ™‚

  6. prinsesamusang permalink
    November 30, 2009 12:00 pm

    this is very sweet winkie. happy birthday to your daddy.

    thanks, PM! nice to see you backπŸ™‚

  7. November 30, 2009 12:15 pm

    Very touching! Sobrang miss mo si Daddy. Happy bday sa dad mo WinksπŸ™‚

    Take care.πŸ˜‰

    thanks roneth! take care too!πŸ™‚

  8. Tink permalink
    November 30, 2009 1:37 pm

    nakakaiyak, bigla ko namiss ang aking Lolo.

    Happy Birthday to ur father, I know he’s very proud of you!

    ayan, nanumbalik ang alaala ni lolo! God bless his soul.

    thanks sa greetings, tink!πŸ™‚

  9. November 30, 2009 2:56 pm

    Happy Birthday kay tatay…(sowee hindi ko tinapos basahin ayoko kasing maiyak at mamiss n naman tatay ko)😦

    pero sobrang Happy Birthday sa Daddy mo ha!.πŸ™‚

    ay may dramang naganap! hehehe!

    thankies daw sa greetings sabi ni tatayπŸ™‚

  10. November 30, 2009 8:35 pm

    naiyak naman ako Winks…that song is my father’ favorite…maaga din kasi nawala papa nya (lolo ko)…it also made me miss my lolo (mama’s side)…ambilis ng panahon…2 years nang wala lolo ko pero ’til now, I can still hear his voice…I still know how his skin feels…I can still se him smile

    ….ayan naiyak na naman ako

    may drama din dito? ano ba, contagious ba ito? hehehe!

    well, nakakamiss talaga pag di na natin sila kasama. kaya dapat habang buhay pa, we make the most out of it. we should cherish all the moments the best we can.πŸ™‚

  11. November 30, 2009 9:57 pm

    huwwwaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah! ano ba naman yan winks….kakaiyak naman….tapos may vid ka pang danz with my fader…..

    ay sorry po, kuya blu!

    tissue, you want???πŸ™‚

  12. November 30, 2009 10:33 pm

    hays, nakakaiyak naman.. happy birthday po sa tatay mo! boni din ba sya!?(wink!)

    anywhow.. kahit nasaan man sya, siguradong proud na proud yun sayu at masaya dahil nalilibot morin naman ang ibat ibang lugar kasama pa ang mom mo!

    cheers!

    ** gustong gusto ko din yung song na yan…

    naku bons, di kayo magka-pangalan ni tatay. franco siya… ako junior kaya francia. hehehe!

    oh pano, di ko na papupuntahin si tatay sayo para magtenk yu in person ah! baka papuntahin mo pa ang tatay mo sa akin. sabihin mo, mag-tagayan na lang sila sa heaven. hehehe!

  13. December 1, 2009 4:44 am

    awwww…

    He is still with you… as long as you remember him. =)
    One can live forever in someone’s heart.

    It is better to die, than to be forgotten.

    uy, touching naman ito, timangkey! thanks thanks!πŸ™‚

  14. ELIment permalink
    December 1, 2009 5:18 am

    kaka-touch naman..happy biday sa daddy mo.

    salamat po, kuya eli!πŸ™‚

  15. Mr. Nonsense permalink
    December 1, 2009 7:08 am

    happy birthday kay tatay. i get you na…no man can ever take the place of your dad in your heart.

    well, i just love and admire my father too much.

    ei, thanks for peeking in… againπŸ™‚

  16. December 1, 2009 8:04 am

    Ahhhhh…. *teary eyed*

    See, that song is perfect for you and your dad. πŸ™‚

    I really admire your mommy for acting as your daddy all throughout these years. Ni hindi man lang sya nag-asawa uli para lang siguro mas matutukan nya ang iyong paglaki.

    PS: Ate, wag ka na mag-asam mag-FA. Dami ako fwends na FA ayaw na nila. No offense meant pero sa kanila na mismo nanggagaling na nabubulok daw utak nila. Parang mas bagay sayo sa corporate. Hehe.

    well, my mom really did a good job playing both mom and dad for me. someday, i hope i could tell more stories about her and how she raised and stood by my side.

    naku, super wish lang ni tatay para sa akin yang FA. pinangarap ko rin minsan because i wanted to grant him his wish… kaso di nga pinalad. siguro, it’s not meant to beπŸ™‚

    • December 1, 2009 8:05 am

      BTW, birthday din pala Nov 30 ng Lola ko. Mom ng Mom ko. Bata pa lang din ako nung namatay sya.

      uy, happy bertday din ke lola. baka nagparty sila ni tatay sa heaven ah!πŸ™‚

  17. December 1, 2009 2:18 pm

    sad naman ng story,

    just close your eyes, think of him and fell free to dance him again.

    happy bday sa kanya….

    πŸ™‚ thanks sa greetings, alvin.

  18. December 2, 2009 9:12 am

    Wink, hapi bday to your Pop!
    I’m sure, he’s so proud of you at lagi ka nyang babantayan at gagabayan…πŸ˜›
    (na-miss ko tuloy tatay ko…)

    thanks MP.

    wala na rin si tatay mo?

  19. December 2, 2009 9:21 am

    at nde ko pinanood ang video baka maiyak din ako, wala pa namang tissue o pampunas na malapit sa kinalalagyan ko…πŸ˜‰

    (pasensya na, napindot ko agad ang submit comment… heheheh)

    ps. kindly send my regards to your Mom, and please tell here that I admire her.πŸ™‚

    i read your comment to my mom. and you made her smile. thanks again, MP!

  20. kaye permalink
    December 4, 2009 9:37 am

    nakow. nakakaiyak naman ito… napaluha tuloy ako. i could feel how much you miss your dear dad… pero tama ka, I am sure they are having a grand celebration for your in heaven. and I am pretty sure your dad is mighty proud of who you have become.πŸ™‚

  21. December 4, 2009 3:13 pm

    naiyak ako.. i don’t know how to comment on this.

    miss yah winkie!

  22. December 4, 2009 5:01 pm

    Super duper ganda ng song na yan. I’m sure masaya na din si Daddy mo sa nakikita nya sayo ngayon.

    God bless you more Ate Winkie!πŸ™‚

  23. December 6, 2009 10:47 am

    i can relate to you…i lost daddy last Jan. 18, 2003 due to stroke. he was 58 that time…

Leave a Reply

