Skip to content

The Ondoy Incident… my side of the story!

October 7, 2009

Yeah yeah, I know, the Ondoy story is part of history now. Parma and Quedan have already passed by Pinas as well. Sorry na. Busy lang po sa farming sa Facebook paglilinis ng house at pagtupi ng mga damit.

Anyhow, as promised in my last post, here is my Ondoy story…

September 26, I woke up at around 8 a.m. thinking it was just another rainy Saturday morning. Although I was aware that it rained all night, it didn’t bother me much as I know our house is safe from such calamaties.

So, as usual, I grabbed my laptop and hooked on the net. I was in a hurry then as it was harvest time for me in Farmville. LOL. Since I was on Facebook, I got myself busy checking out posts made by friends. I was suprised to see some pics shared by one of my colleagues. I even blurted out, “Hala, ang taas na ng baha sa ibang lugar! Malapit na sa bubong!” That colleague lives somewhere in Mandaluyong. After some minutes, my former boss posted similar pics. I even told my mom, “Ma, alam mo baha na kina Ma’am (insert former boss’s name here). Lagpas tuhod sa kanila!” But still, those pictures did not bother me. In fact, it got me interested to view some other pics. Until suddenly, one of my older male cousins came to our house and ask my mom, “Tiyang, bumabaha na sa likod namin. Tumumba na yung washing machine ko. Kumusta po yung sa inyo?” My mom, who was watching tv that time, replied, “Ay ewan ko lang. Pakitingnan nga.” That was the time I shifted my attention from online to the real world. And when I looked down, eto lang ang nasabi ko, “Nyay! Nasa likod ko na pala ang baha!”

And so, I started to panic. LOL.

Another neighbor came in and checked if we needed help. And so, they both tried to save some important things starting from my washing machine, ref and bed. Since my clothes are neatly kept in plastic stackable containers, it was easy for me to move them all from the bedroom to our living room. Well, I have been using those wheeled-plastic containers as our place is a bit fire prone. Kelangan ganun ang gamit para itutulak lang in cases of emergency.

It was a bit late for us to save some of my photo albums as water is around 10 inches high already. But still, my Mom tried to get them all. I never imagined how we quickly moved most of our things to our living room. My cousin and  nieghbor also tried to elevate my sofa and shoe cabinet and put it on top of monoblock stools.

So after all those panic stuff, ganito ang naging itsura ng bahay namin…

Promise, living room po namin yan! Hindi lang halata. Hahaha!

Noticed those magazines? Those are just some of my Cosmopolitan collection.

I went back to the bedroom to look for other important things to save. I saw my bayong-like bag. In it were my precious flip-flops and I blurted out, “Waaah! Ang mga Havaianas ko!!!” My Mom laughed and said, “Baliw, rubber kaya yan! Ok lang na mabasa!” Oo nga naman, may point si Mudra dun. Bakit ba ?! Eh sa gusto kong magpanic for my precious Havaianas. LOL.

Water continued to pour in. Here’s a photo of my bedroom when water level was still a bit low…

 Image209

 It was just around 15 inches high. It doubled up after sometime.

Even in the middle of such dilemma, my OC nature surfaced. I looked for sako bags. Know those with Mickey Mouse and Winnie the Pooh prints sold at the marketplace? I have 5 of those. And despite the flood, I still managed to pack some of our clothes in those sako bags. Kiber sa baha, OC kung OC talaga! Hehehe! And one funny thing, I asked Mommy to wear board shorts so it would dry up faster in case we get wet. So, board shorts ang costume naming mag-ina. Kala ni Christine Reyes sya lang ang naka-japorms habang baha noh?!😛

Mid afternoon, members of our Barangay Council went to our area and announced that the doors of the nearest public school has opened for us for evacuation. We didn’t bother though as we can’t leave our things behind.

Time passed by and it was night time already. Water level is continuously increasing. Yet, my Mom and I still tried to improvise as we wanted to sleep. Mommy opted to use the dining chairs. Pinagdikit-dikit lang nya, instant higaan na. Since my Mom’s bed is not yet wet, I cleared up a small space enough for me to sleep in.

At around 10 p.m., Mom was already asleep while I was wide awake, afraid and praying to God to make rain to stop and let the water subside soon. But I guess, I wasn’t praying hard enough. Patuloy tumaas ang baha. And oh, brownout na pala that time. I felt so helpless. I then started to cry. It was my first time to experience that so it was a bit too sad for me to be in that situation. I pictured in mind that Titanic scene where the Mom was trying to put her children to sleep while the ship was sinking. I cried even harder. I was trying to sleep while being surrounded by flood. But then again, I thought of the people who are used to experiencing this kind of calamities like Malabon and Marikina residents. I then stopped crying.

Some minutes later, I heard noise from our living room. Nabuhat pala ng tubig ung mga plastic containers. So all those clothes inside those canisters got wet. And not just clothes, but my office and special ocassion clothes. Some even have price tags. So, ang dami pang hindi nagagamit. Di na ako umiyak. Naiinis na lang ako. Since it was too dark inside the house, I no longer bothered to pick up those clothes and thought to just check them as soon as the water subsides.

At around 12 midnight, I got a bit concerned for my TV and component. I went out to seek help. One of my childhood friends asked what they could do for us. I just told them that I was worried my TV rack might collapse anytime soon if I don’t remove my appliances from there. Sinisi pa ako, “Sus ka, bakit ngayon mo lang sinabi. Sana kanina pa natin nailikas yan. Isang sabi mo lang, ilalabas namin agad yan.” And so they moved those appliances outside our house. One of our neighbors was kind enough to accommodate those in their house. She even invited me and my Mom to spend the night with them. And so we did.

Another problem arose at around 2 a.m. (Sunday). We learned that a house from the neighboring street was on fire. Anuber?!?!?! May baha na, may sunog pa! Gladly though, people from different barangays helped to put out the fire. But two houses got burned.

It was the longest, most tiring and nerve-wrecking night I have experienced in my life. Water subsided at 7 a.m. of September 27. No time to rest, we started washing all the clothes that were soaked with flood. We were able to revive most of our clothes but some were too muddy that we had to throw them away. Later that day, nearing evening, electricity went back on. So we then decided to clean the murky floor. Goodness, ang hirap pala maglinis ng sahig na puro putik.

Well, up to this writing, our house is still a mess. All my cabinets were damaged and we don’t know where to put all our things. Etong si Ondoy, dagdag gastos. Nakakaasar!

On the bright note though, I’m glad that nothing bad happened to me, my Mom and the rest of the people in our community. When I watched the Ondoy news reports days after the incident, nanlumo ako with what I saw. Families lost their homes. Some people even lost their lives. And some areas are still flooded up to now.

So, despite what happened, I still feel blessed. God may not have answered my request to make the rain stop and let the water subside but He gave me a better answer. He spared us from the danger Ondoy brought. He kept us perfectly safe.

26 Comments leave one →
  1. October 7, 2009 4:59 pm

    base ba?

    base nga, reesie! ang bilis, nag-eedit pa ako eh! hehehe!

  2. October 7, 2009 5:03 pm

    base nga!!😀

    i like what you said in the last paragraph winkz. maswerte pa rin kayo keysa sa mga taong nasa evacuation centers pa rin ngayon na nag-aantay ng makakain. ang hirap ng ganon.

    i am glad that you and your mom are fine. napapalitan namn lahat ng bagay ng pa unti unti.😉

    gusto ko yung pagka narrate mo sa story mo at nakukuha mo pang magbiro. hehe.

    pahingi ng isa sa mga havaianas mo. lol. bakit kaya dito hndi uso yan, kahit nong summer. di ko nga kilala yan eh. napa google tuloy ako. jusmeyo, tsinelas lang pala. parang gusto ko pa rin yung spartan na kulay red. harharhar

    welcome back winkie!!!

    sobrang swerte pa rin talaga kami. sa lagay na yun, light lang ang impact sa amin ni Ondoy. nakakaawa talaga yung iba na hanggang ngayon eh may baha. and some say that it will take another 3 to 5 months for the water to subside. nakakalungkot.

    anong kulay ng havaianas ang gusto mo? hehehe! naku, gomang tsinelas lang yun. tama, parang spartan lang. pero wag ka, P800 to P1200 ang prices. ewan ko ba, addict talaga ako sa footwears eh!

    thanks sa pagwelcome, reese! im back to blogging… yey!😛

    • October 8, 2009 2:35 pm

      may polka dots ba winkz? haha. yung pink na polka dots. hihihi. waa. ang mahal naman ng tsinelas na yan. juskoday!

      i miss yah!

  3. October 7, 2009 5:23 pm

    Hayz Winkie grabe talaga si Ondoy! I was stranded in Coastal Road for 13 hours.
    Baha ang sumalubong sa paguwi ko ng pinas. hehe.
    Thankful parin ako dahil nakauwi parin ng safe.

    Take Care =)

    Oo nga, I read about that PnD! Yan din nga ang best consolation… we are all safe!

    Ikaw din, take care always. Kelan ang balik mo?

  4. October 7, 2009 5:40 pm

    naku Ms. Winkie buti nalang at safe keyu..🙂

    ingat and God Bless!

  5. October 7, 2009 7:04 pm

    natawa naman ako sa post mo…hinde halatang haggardness ka na…seriously, kakatakot talaga ‘tong si Ondoy na nakakainis….awa ako sa mga writers ko…ung iba sa kanila inabot yung bubong ng bahay…ung isa nilamon ng baha yung laptop…sabi ko nga, swerte-swerte pa rin kami, tayo…at least buhay tayo at kasama pa rin natin ang mga mahal natin sa buhay

  6. October 8, 2009 12:38 am

    ay grabe naman pala.

    pero ang mahalaga dun safe kayo. ‘yong putik nalilinis naman so, tyaga-tyaga nalang sa paglilinis..take it as an slimming activity. hehe

  7. October 8, 2009 2:38 am

    ahhhhhhh… speechless na ako. parang pagod na pagod na nga ako magkwento eh, singpagod ng katawan ko dahil sa paglalaboy at pag-aayos ng mga bagay-bagay simula nung bumagyo.. i even lost my yaya kagandahan..

    in such a short span of time, a lot of things changed. i guess it all started because of ondoy.. haaayyy..😦

  8. October 8, 2009 2:58 am

    BTW, I live in Pasig. Runner up sa Provident. Haha. At sabi nga ni APE, ang bagong pangalan daw ng Pasig ay “Atlantis” ahahaha😆 I’m looking for a place to rent na. Hindi na healthy manirahan sa Pasig even if we have our life there. Awwww…😦

  9. October 8, 2009 3:39 am

    hello!

    buti nlng at okay kayo.. at nde masyadong nasalanta ang bahay at mga gamit nyo..

    Godbless lagi..

  10. October 8, 2009 5:56 am

    we are lucky compared to people inside the evacuation areas… they suffer from hunger, foul odor, sickness and frustration… it makes me remind of god’s promise about new earth..

  11. October 8, 2009 6:15 am

    Buti po, di ka masyado nawalan ng gamit. I’m glad that you’re okay. It’s cool to know that you really have that bubbly attitude despite of what happened. I really admire that attitude. Stay cool ^^,

  12. IKAY permalink
    October 8, 2009 7:16 am

    good to know na OK kayo ni mudra, although syempre nakakasad p rin yung nangyari sa inyo..but i really admire you for having that positive thought. ^_^

    ingat po lagi and GODbless.

    welcomeback sken..ay mali syo pla..ahihi😛

  13. azul permalink
    October 8, 2009 9:12 am

    good to know you and your mom are safe.ateast di maxadong mataas ang baha sa inyo.kami back to uhmmm almost zero..lagpas tao ang baha sa amin sa bulacan.yung kusina ng kapitbahay nain tinangay ng baha.yung haus namin mataasn pero inabot pa rin sa loob hanggang bewang.

  14. October 8, 2009 12:31 pm

    lets move on sa nangyari,,oha..kalimutan na si ondoy..loko talaga..
    basta ang importante safe tayong lahat..
    ang mga gamit pwede pa naman palitan unti-unti pero sayang lang ung mga dress mo ate ha hehe…
    natawa ako dun sa havainans hehe..at sa reaction ni mommy na goma lang yan ok lang mabasa yan ehhe..ung isang sinelas ko din kasi inanod na di na nakita ng nanay ko,..hehe..di nila na save hehe..:)

  15. forbiddenlei permalink
    October 8, 2009 5:19 pm

    wwhoooow grabe nmn pala ang tubig senyo ate wink.tsk tsk tsk. pero infairness ah. baha na pumoporma pa. naks nmn . hehe

    saka si kababata huh! ang cheesy. hehehe

    ok nba lahat jan ate winks?

  16. October 8, 2009 10:41 pm

    Tsk tsk, di mo talaga maalis ang pagka-blogger mo kahit na sa gitna ng kalamidad. Nakuha mo pang magpiktyur-piktyur, hehe. Way to go go Winks, keep up the high spirits. Lilipas din ito.

  17. hisnameisdencios permalink
    October 9, 2009 7:07 am

    nasabi na ang lahat. basta ang mahalaga may lesson sa pangyayaring ito.

    nextime ipamigay mo ang ibang damit na di ginagamit! hahaha

    God bless!

  18. October 9, 2009 1:55 pm

    Nice post sis, nakakatuwa kase sa kabila ng bagyo eh nakakaaliw pa din ang post mo, I guess natural na sating mga Pinoy ang tawanan nalang ang problema.

    Thank God you are all safe!🙂

    Wala na kayong mga photo albums?😦

  19. October 10, 2009 10:32 am

    hay kakalungkot tlg…

    bagyo

    bagyo

    bagyo

    kakaloka n..

    but we pinoys still find something to be positive about…

  20. October 12, 2009 4:46 am

    tama ms winkie, magpasalamat nalang tayo kc nabuhay pa tayo…

    let us just pray sa mga nawalan ng kamag anak at mahal sa buhay…😦

  21. October 12, 2009 5:40 am

    “Waaah! Ang mga Havaianas ko!!!” My Mom laughed and said, “Baliw, rubber kaya yan! Ok lang na mabasa!”

    Natawa ako sa sinabi nung Mom…. “Baliw…”.hahaha

    Cool ni mudra.

    Havahaianas. =P

  22. xtremus24 permalink
    October 12, 2009 2:27 pm

    Nice Story and Experienced…. parang Docomentary na rin…. important is safe kayo…..

    Hope those people na nasalanta ni Ondoy at Pepeng…. makabalik agad sa normal na pamumuhay….

    May God Bless the Philippines………

  23. taympers permalink
    October 15, 2009 4:52 am

    buti na lang at ganyan nangyari sa inyo. di tulad ng ibang bahay wash out talaga. thank God pa rin.

    oo nga eh! thankful pa rin talaga ako.

  24. October 21, 2009 1:42 pm

    salamat naman at maayos kayo ni mother mo

  25. jopet permalink
    October 26, 2009 6:36 am

    hi bes,

    eto ang mas nakakainis…

    http://pinoyfunnypictures.blogspot.com/2009/10/repost-from-blog-ni-ella.html

    paki copy and paste na lang yung URL…

Leave a Reply

