Skip to content

Thank you, Madamme President Cory

August 1, 2009

Early this morning, I woke up with a sad news on TV. At exactly 3:18 a.m., Philippines’ 11th and first-ever lady president, Maria Corazon Congjuangco-Aquino passed away to be with her husband and our most loving Creator. Mrs. Aquino battled colon cancer for more than a year but officially died of cardiorespiratory arrest. So today, the entire Filipino nation is mourning for her loss.

Corazon Conjuanco-Aquino 1933-2009

Corazon Conjuanco-Aquino 1933-2009

If you have frequent my site for quite sometime, you would notice that I don’t talk about politics slash politicians at all. Well, simply because I little know about it/them. But this time, it’s no ordinary politician. She was in fact not a politician at all, not until the People Power revolt in 1986.  She was placed in power by the people to put an end to a dictator’s leadership that the country had been experiencing for more than 2 decades.

Back in 1986, I don’t have a clear grasp of what dictatorship and corruption meant. I was not even a teen during those times so all I know then were just things that involve my childhood. But the 1986 revolt which was lead by Pres. Cory and Cardinal Sin thought me meanings other than those two negative words. I started to learn about democracy, peace and love for one’s country. Even with a very young mind, I was able to participate in that rally in EDSA. I think I should thank my mom for dragging me there.

Pres. Cory’s presidency wasn’t an easy one. She had to transform a power-playing corrupt government into a God-fearing servant of the Filipino nation. Her ideas and plans were all good but some military and leftist groups were not with her that quest. There were a lot of coup attempts and I, living near the presidential palace, personally witnessed those scenarios. Tora-tora flying over our houses. Armed military men roaming around our place. It was really scary then. And yet, her government surpassed those threats. There were a lot more other things that made her term difficult. It was also the time when the country got badly hit with various calamities. And not to mention those intermitent power interuptions experienced nationwide. But still, she was able to extend help and provide solutions to  all these. Well, I guess the saying is true, no one can ever put a good woman down.

I have my utmost respect for Pres. Cory not only for being a good God-fearing leader of this nation, but also for being a fulltime advocate of peace and democracy, a person of humility and simplicity, and most especially a loving mother not only to her children but to the entire Filipino nation as well.

I tried to read more about her life and death. And there’s one article in time.com that I liked the most. It’s entitled People Power’s Philippine Saint: Corazon Aquino 1933-2009. Do read it if you have time.

Today, people mourn for her passing… I do, too. I don’t want to say goodbye to her though. I would rather thank her for the things she’s done for all of us.

I bet Mrs. President is happy where she is right now. She’s now back in the arms of her Creator and in the company of her loving husband, Senator Ninoy. Besides, she had wished for a happy death as laid down in a prayer she wrote back in 2004…. 5 years before she was diagnosed with her illness. Here is Pres. Cory’s prayer as posted in inquirer.net:

Prayer for a happy death
by Corazon C. Aquino

Almighty God, most merciful Father
You alone know the time
You alone know the hour
You alone know the moment
When I shall breathe my last.

So, remind me each day,
most loving Father
To be the best that I can be.
To be humble, to be kind,
To be patient, to be true.
To embrace what is good,
To reject what is evil,
To adore only You.

When the final moment does come
Let not my loved ones grieve for long.
Let them comfort each other
And let them know
how much happiness
They brought into my life.
Let them pray for me,
As I will continue to pray for them,
Hoping that they will always pray
for each other.

Let them know that they made possible
Whatever good I offered to our world.
And let them realize that our separation
Is just for a short while
As we prepare for our reunion in eternity.

Our Father in heaven,
You alone are my hope.
You alone are my salvation.
Thank you for your unconditional love, Amen.

Rest in peace, Madamme President!


11 Comments leave one →
  1. dencios permalink
    August 1, 2009 10:12 am

    base!

    wow, first time ito ah!🙂

  2. dencios permalink
    August 1, 2009 10:15 am

    tulad mo ayoko ding magsabi ng goodbye sa kanya.

    mabubuhay siya sa puso ng mga naniniwala sa kanya.

    Sigurado masaya na sya sa kinalalagyan nya ngayon.

    i say AMEN to that! let’s just pray for the repose of her soul.

  3. August 1, 2009 10:29 am

    amen! a priest drops by and solemnly pray with you…one with you🙂

    salamat po ng marami, fr. felmar!

  4. August 1, 2009 10:39 am

    napadaan at napabasa..
    condolences to us all..
    so sad.

    yeah, condolences to us all.

    salamat po sa pagdaan. hope to see you back!🙂

  5. August 1, 2009 2:21 pm

    kalungkot no? and just last night nagkukwentuhan pa kami ng mga kapatid ko about her…sabi kasi sa news stable pa naman daw sya and that she slept the whole day

    …at least she’s free from any physical pain na
    …naalala ko tuloy bigla lolo ko😦

    sobrang nakakalungkot talaga. kanina while watching TV eh naluha talaga ako. i want to go to greenhills nga kaso naman uber sa dami ng tao un for sure. i’ll just pray for her na lang.

  6. August 1, 2009 3:21 pm

    Prayer for a Happy Death. very nice. thanks for sharing..

    very nice indeed, mon! it’s my privilege to have it posted here in my site🙂

  7. August 1, 2009 4:30 pm

    i think ‘tita cory’ and her family has accepted it before pa na she’ll leave na talaga. so ok na yun para hindi na siya mahirapan.

    so if you think of it, ok na rin. now, she’s with her hubby na.

    yeah, i heard in one of her last interviews she said na gusto na rin naman nyang makama si senator ninoy. at least now, she no longer feels physical pain. she is in a way better place.

  8. Mr. Nonsense permalink
    August 2, 2009 8:05 am

    cory came just in time when i began to develop political, social, and global awareness. she taught me that power comes not with external noise, but with internal peace. luv tita cory.

    yeah you’re right. and what even better is that she never abused the power that the entire Filipino nation entrusted to her. she is really one of a kind. i think there will ever be a Cory Aquino again.

    nung time ng people power eh 25 years old ka na ba nun?😛

    • Mr. Nonsense permalink
      August 2, 2009 8:22 am

      no, wink. i was 2…i was an early bloomer.

      ok payn! tell that to the marines! hahaha!

  9. August 2, 2009 11:48 am

    Maraming Salamat Pangulong Tita Cory sa iyong binigay sa bansang Filipinas.

    with prayers,

    i’m sure naririnig ni tita cory ang thank you mo, sandi🙂

Leave a Reply

