Skip to content

July Calendar

July 1, 2009
tags:

Β 

In Thy Wounds

This painting is a remake of Caravaggio’s Incredulity of St. Thomas. In this modern retake, Thomas touches the Hapag and scrutunizes it. This reminds me of a 2nd year college student who visited my exhibit a year ago in the UST Fine Arts Department. She approached me and said in a soft voice, “Sir, I am an atheist.” Not sure of what I heard, I asked her to repeat. Again she went, “Sir, I am an atheist.” Pointing at the Hapag painting, she followed through, “But sir, if that is what God si all about, it has awakened a part of me.” I just smiled.

Six months later, I mounted another exhibit at the UST Museums. My heart stopped when I read a message in the guest book, I will never forget those words: “I am the atheist student who approached you the other time. I have been visiting your new exhibit five times already hoping that I would meet you, Sir. I have been baptized already.”

Joey Velasco

13 Comments leave one →
  1. July 1, 2009 5:56 pm

    awwww….ang ganda naman nung story

    di ba naman?! joey velasco was able to bring back God’s lost sheep. indeed, his paintings can do marvels.

  2. July 1, 2009 6:08 pm

    nice! inspiring. Hi po Ms. Winkie. *kaway-kaway*

    inspiring indeed, mon! *kaway-kaway din*

  3. hisnameisdencios permalink
    July 1, 2009 7:36 pm

    u r like a ray of sunshine in the first day of the month winkie. sana maganda ang pasok ng buwan sa iyoπŸ™‚

    thanks dencio! *blushes*

    sad to say, my july didn’t start well as usual. some not so good things happened. hope the rest of the days will be fine alright.

  4. July 2, 2009 1:33 am

    Wow! Ang ganda naman ni ms. tinkie winkie!

    I know Mr. Joey Velasco, i heard of him already. I’m currently reading Fr. Juni, SJ book entitled ‘Embraced by God’ and the cover and the rest of the pictures are from Joey’s paintings. Ang ganda talaga.. Superb!

    As far as I know, kinikilala na sya sa Europe ngaun..

    Thanks for posting this. Godbless!

    Wow, that’s nice to hear. His works truly deserve to be acknowledged internationally. It’s really nice that he spreads God’s words through his paintings.

    It’s my honour to share his artworks. gBU too, Jorgie!

  5. July 2, 2009 12:00 pm

    Sometimes I want to ask a friend if mine who claims to be an atheist. I want to ask him why he sometimes blurts out ‘Oh! My God!’ when he doesn’t believe in God or any gods. On a serious note, it’s such a great feeling to be a ‘bridge’ of a non-believer to have himself/herself baptized as a Christian or any religion he believes.

    LOL. Honga noh?! If your friend say OMG, who is he/she referring to then?πŸ˜›

    I think Joey Velasco has a special gift of bringing people back to God. Quite a gift!πŸ™‚

  6. July 2, 2009 1:45 pm

    ahm…i am an agnostic. pwede rin ba makahingi ng painting ni mr. velasco? tas ibebenta ko sa recto para may pambili ako ng pulang kabayo. huhlolz. jokeness.

    aray ko, agnostic ka naman! what’s with pulang kabayo?πŸ˜›

  7. July 3, 2009 5:32 am

    ate lalaklakin ni lio ung pulang kabayo hehe..

    ate ang galing ni j.velasco real painting may buhay..kung titigan mo..

    oh… as in red horse! na-low IQ ako dun ah! hehehe!

  8. July 3, 2009 4:19 pm

    Sows to si Lio o, angseryus kaya!

    heniwei, I really feel blessed kapag nakakarinig/nakakabasa ako ng awakening stories.

    Godbless you Ate Winkie!πŸ™‚

    God bless you, too, Joycee!

  9. sandi permalink
    July 4, 2009 11:52 am

    ang gandaπŸ™‚

    sino, ako??? thank you, sandi! hehehe!

    • sandi permalink
      July 4, 2009 3:00 pm

      hmmm.. kailangan pa bang imemorized ‘yon.. syempre OoπŸ˜‰

      hehehe!

  10. July 5, 2009 5:03 pm

    if a picture paints a thousand words…this is preceisely what i was thinking while looking into the picture….salamat

    korek! joey’s artworks indeed are worth a thousand words.

  11. August 4, 2009 4:27 pm

    Beautiful!

    “Sa Kambas ng Lipunan” youtube video ko unang natagpuan yang artist na yan. Salute to our Filipino artist!

    i learned about him from work. good thing, the company i work for supports the salesians and joey velasco.

Trackbacks

  1. Poverty from the artist’s perspective « EXODIANS

Leave a Reply

