Skip to content

My Birthday Bash

April 26, 2009
First of all, let me thank all those who greeted me on my special day…
  • friends I have known for quite a long time who has been with me through thick and thin.
  • former colleagues and friends I haven’t seen for quite a while but has been in constant communication.
  • acquaintances and people I stumbled upon at some point or another.
  • and most especially, my new found friends in the online world, blogosphere and YM alike, whom I haven’t met personally but have shared some sort of special bond and connection. I hope one day, I can meet each one of you and share some laughs over coffee.

The SMS, phone calls, YM messages, emails and blog comments you all sent me really made my day extra special. And so, from the bottom of my heart… THANK YOU, MY DEAR DARLING FRIENDS!!!

 * *******************

 

As I said in one of my most recent posts, I’m really not expecting to have a grand celebration for my birthday this year. Since I have an upcoming beach vacay, I no longer planned any out-of-town trip. Besides I was way too busy at work so I really guessed that I would spend my day working. But I was wrong. I was dead wrong. Snippets of good things came pouring my way.

I have really given up hopes on filing for a birthday leave (yep, we have that kind of thing at work) so I was trying to finish a report last Thursday (April 23). Until, one of the department heads approached me and said, “Hey Winkie, I heard it’s your birthday tomorrow. Will you be on leave?” And so, I replied, “I don’t think I’m allowed to as I have to finish this before Monday. So I’d be here tomorrow working on this report.” She grabbed her cellphone and clicked her keypad. After a few minutes, she received a text message. And so she told me, “I just asked our boss to defer the report for next Monday so you could take the day off tomorrow. And he said, it’s ok to defer. So, you just enjoy your day tomorrow, ok?!” I was EXTREMELY pleased. I was like jumping up and down when I heard her say that. And I even blurted out, “I sooo love you, Ma’am!” *sipsip mode na yun*

 On my special day (April 24), I woke up a bit earlier than usual. I knew I’m off for a very long day.

 

Afternoon Stroll & Snacks at Friday’s with Mommy, April & Potchie

I was thinking of spending the day with Mommy at the mall. But since Mommy and I miss my niece a lot, I decided to give my cousin a call and asked him if his youngest daughter (Potchie) could spend the day with me. As always, he instantly agreed and even asked his elder daughter slash my inaanak (April) to accompany the younger one to our house.

Since we ate some bland spaghetti (courtesy of my Mom) at home, we thought of watching a movie in Robinson’s Manila before we go for snacks. I wanted to watch 17 Again (pa-teenager mode) but Potchie wanted to watch T2, that local horror flick starred by Maricel Soriano. Since I’m not a horror film fan, I decided that we no longer watch movies and just have a short stroll instead. For starters, I treated them for some ice cream at Dairy Queen. Say nyo, pati Dairy Queen eh di pinatawad sa pikchuran!

Ice cream moments with Potchie and April

Ice cream moments with Pothcie and April

Mag-tiyahing adik sa picture!

Mag-tiyahing adik sa picture!

with Mommy naman (si Potchie, gusto laging kasama sa pic!)

with Mommy naman (si Potchie, gusto laging kasama sa pic!)

We strolled a  bit more and when we got hungry, I decided that we take some snacks at Friday’s. Potchie is really dying to eat at Friday’s.
At Fridays... pangarap kasing kumain ni Chuchai dyan!

At Fridays... pangarap kasing kumain ni Chuchai dyan!

Ang mga nagpalibre! Hehehe!

Ang mga nagpalibre! Hehehe!

Group pic... at last! LOLz

Group pic... at last! LOLz

Some years ago, I had Mommy celebrate her birthday at this very same resto. She was a bit too surprised to hear the crew sang Happy Birthday to the tune of “Don’t Cha”. Yep, very hip talaga si Mudra at Pussy Cat Dolls ang kanta for her. Hahaha! So, when we were there last Friday, she was thinking of a way of how to get the crew sing Happy Birthday for me. Alangan namang ako magsabi??? It would be a bit too awkward if I will do that myself, so we had it planned. I sneaked for a short toilet break while Potchie and April requested the crew to sing for me. So much for a surprise birthday song, eh?! LOL.
With the Friday's crew

With the Friday's crew

Don't forget to make a wish! LOLz

Happy birthday, Winkie!!!

 So, what was my wish? Hmmm… I would rather keep it to myself for now. LOLz

 

Dinner at Dad’s with Jing and Beth

In our 18 years of friendship, it was my first time to celebrate my birthday with two of my best female buds. Our first-ever dine-out-Winkie’s-birthday bash was celebrated at Dad’s in Glorietta, Makati. Since Beth (far right in picture) wasn’t able to treat us out for her birthday last January (ang layo ng month di ba naman?), we just had a sort-of joint birthday celebration. LOLz

With best fem buds, Jing and Beth

With best fem buds, Jing and Beth

We just spent roughly 3 hours for dinner, catching up chika, a little bit of tsismis and the usual things that we talk about.  Although, it was a very short dinner, I really had a nice time with them… as I always do.

 

Drinks at Gilligan’s with colleagues

Right after my Dad’s gig, I had to run and meet my colleagues who were simultaneously having a Friday night’s out at Gilligan’s, also in Makati, Glorietta 5 that is. Apparently, it was Eric’s (guy in glasses and black shirt) promotion treat for us. So, this isn’t my party at all. I was just invited. LOL.

With my colleagues and co-RCLs

With my colleagues and co-RCLs

With Eric, the master trader

With Eric, the master trader

With Joy, Dette, Linda, Jason and Eric

With Joy, Dette, Linda, Jason and Eric

With the RCL boys: Henry, Jason, Eric and Allan

With the RCL boys: Henry, Jason, Eric and Allan

My co-RCLS

My co-RCLS

It was really my first time to go out drinking with these guys (although I did not drink as I wasn’t still feeling too well). It was fun being with them eventhough they talked most about NBA play-offs. I was like going “Duh, what the heck are you talking about???” But spending time with them was refreshing and it was a nice way to end my special day.

Such a fun day for me. And if you’d ask me what was the best gift I received for my birthday… it was this one:

I soooo love this bag!!!

I soooo love this bag!!!

It was from a very generous girl named Winkie!!! LOLz

 

 

 BTW, did you notice my new hair cut??? LOL

56 Comments leave one →
  1. April 26, 2009 9:50 am

    im pers ulit hehe..:)
    salamat naman po kay mam’nakapag leave ka hehe sana nihug mo rin sya ate heheh..
    nice celebration ate hectic talaga ang sched buti po napagkasya mo sya hehe..in 1 day.asteeeg new
    hair cut po mas nagmukang bata,at ang happy birthday song’s ang dami po palang kumunta napansin ko lang yung crew na guy close kayo ate cute sya ha hehe..jokeness
    sana mameet ko rin si mami next time ate ..
    see u on thuesday ate hehe..salamat..:)

    • April 26, 2009 9:59 am

      base na naman ah! hehehe!

      bukas, pag pasok ko eh iha-hug ko si Madam VP, lovely. hehehe!

      sinabi mo pa, OA sa hectic ang aking bday. i had to properly arrange my sked. pero kalokah kasi text ng text mga officemates ko at pinapupunta na ako sa gilligans. hehehe!

      hala, napansin mo di pala ung crew. ung niece ko, yan din ang sabi. nakaakbay daw sa akin… pero cute naman. hehehe!

      oo nga, sana ma-meet mo mom ko. kulit yan! hehehe! see you tuesday!

  2. April 26, 2009 9:59 am

    wow, yeah medyo nagulat ako! Happy new hair! hehe. and i’m glad ur birthday celebration was fun.😉

    • April 26, 2009 10:01 am

      hahaha…. super short hair na ba ako mon? hehehe! yeah, it was one fun day!

  3. snglguy permalink
    April 27, 2009 1:39 am

    At talaga namang todo celebration ha? hehe… anyways, I enjoyed the company last Saturday and also the pasta at Italliannis… sana maulit, hahaha… joke lang, next time it’s my turn…

    • April 27, 2009 7:02 am

      Maulit uli yan sa next birthday ko, Kuya Rudy!🙂 Oo, treat mo ako sa June ah! Hehehe!

  4. April 27, 2009 2:28 am

    Uy, happy birthday ms. tinkie winkie!!

    Ngaun lang ako nakabalik, back to work na naman ako, hayz!

    Astigin nmn pala talga ang birthday bash mo, wala bang haybol ng mga bloggers? hehehe..

    Godbless!

    • April 27, 2009 7:04 am

      Uy, welcome back Mr. Palaboy! At salamat sa greetings🙂

      Haybol? Si snglguy Kuya Rudy lang mineet ko nung Sat. Si Pating eh bukas naman. Gusto mo haybol pag-uwi mo ng Pinas?

  5. azul permalink
    April 27, 2009 3:33 am

    hi ate winks!hembak..belated hapi bday..sori kung natagalan maxado lang talaga naging bc..em glad you enjoied your bday…

    • April 27, 2009 7:06 am

      oi, welcome back from your busy-ness, azul!

      salamat sa greetings!!!

  6. April 27, 2009 7:49 am

    wow, luv the new ‘do!😀

    at talagang gift to self ang peborit mo ha!

    sad naman ako, sana yung gift kong massager ni CF pinichuran mo rin at inupload! nyahaha!😀

    • April 27, 2009 11:58 am

      happy lang talaga with my new bag. next month sad na ako… pag siningil na ako ng credit card. hahaha!

      deej, don’t be sad. am happy naman sa gift mo sa akin… kahit second hand lang na parang sobrang naabuse sa gamit ni CF! hehehe!

    • April 30, 2009 8:46 am

      wahaha! grabe si CF no? medyo pudpod na nga nung giniftwrap ko e. LOL

      but at least i know it’s in safe and capable hands. gamitin mo yan lagi ha.😀

    • April 30, 2009 12:53 pm

      di lang pudpod, deejay! may lamat pa yung dulo… pero pwede pa naman gamitin. salamat talaga ah! you really know what i want for my bday… am touched! LOLz

  7. sandijmartin permalink
    April 27, 2009 11:34 am

    WOW! ang saya saya naman ng b’day mo..🙂

    • April 27, 2009 12:00 pm

      oo nga, sandi. i really did not expect it would be that fun🙂

  8. dencios permalink
    April 27, 2009 11:46 am

    you are just mesmerizing..

    • April 27, 2009 12:00 pm

      ano ba yang comment mo, dencios???

      *blushing*

  9. April 27, 2009 2:23 pm

    pwede na ring maki-ma’am sa boss mo at nang makapag-birthday leave din ako sa birthday ko? nyahahaha!

    who’s this winkie who’s so generous she gave you such an expensivebirthday gift right on the spot?

    oh and yes, your short hair cut suits you well, miss winkie.

    happy birthday once again!

    • April 27, 2009 2:30 pm

      sure lio! sige, sabihan ko si maam na magle-leave ka din sa bday mo. hehehe!

      ay naku, mabait talaga sa akin yang si winkie. she really knows what i want and she doesn’t think twice buying me gifts no matter how expensive they are.😛

      on the hair cut, i’ll take that as a compliment.

      oh ano, may bulutong ka na??? hahaha!

  10. April 27, 2009 2:34 pm

    wow, ang busy ng birthday natin winkz ah! i can see that you really enjoyed your special day.

    gurl, ang ganda mo pala. now lang kasi ikaw nagpost ng pics mo sa blog mo simula noong napadaan ako dito a month ago. at bagay sayo ang new hair mo! ang cute din ng niece mo mana sa tita.

    lacoste girl ka pala? apiyr!

    • April 27, 2009 2:48 pm

      ay naku reese, overly busy and hectic ang bday pero super enjoy naman.

      ngayon mo lang ako nakita sa pic? naku eh pakalat kalat lang ang mga pics ko dito sa site ko. *points at the blog header* thanks sa compliments, i wish i am as pretty in person. hehehe! yang niece ko eh kiriray yan. nag-aapply nga na maging anak ko. laging nakabuntot sa akin.

      i sooooo like lacoste. i have bags and parfums… pero walang polo shirt! namamahalan ako eh! hehehe!

    • April 27, 2009 3:11 pm


      yong pics nasa header mo eh ang liliit naman! uber ka pala sa kagandahan!

      mura lang dito ang mga polo shirts kasi may mga outlet branch ng lacoste.. sometimes nagsasale din sila – mga 70% off. ano ba size mo? ahahah

    • April 27, 2009 3:20 pm

      hahaha… sabagay, parang kuto lang itsura ng mga pics ko sa header. hehehe!

      “uber sa kagandahan” ==> anuber?! walang ganyanan! am blushing na! nyahahaha!

      kainggit naman. sana may outlet shop din ang lacoste dito. naku reese, wag mo na ako padalhan ng light yellow na polo shirt… small lang ako ah! hehehe! i really dunno my size sa lacoste. di ako nagsusukat eh!

    • April 27, 2009 10:27 pm

      buti nalng at hindi mo alam. baka mapasubo ako! nyahahahahaha!😛

    • April 28, 2009 5:29 am

      punta ako maya sa lacoste shop… alamin ko size ko! nyahaha! jokeness!!!🙂

  11. roland permalink
    April 27, 2009 2:43 pm

    oo nga. yun nga una ko napansin eh yung haircut mo. nice naman eh. (sige na nga bertday naman eh!)

    hehhe

    • April 27, 2009 2:50 pm

      lech ka taba! lech ka!!!

      galit ako sayo ah! di mo ko tinext nung bday ko! wag mo ako kausapin!!!

    • roland permalink
      April 27, 2009 2:57 pm

      ano pala tawag jan?

      tama typing pala yan…🙂

    • April 27, 2009 3:02 pm

      ewan ko sayo!!!

      para mapawi ang galit ko… padalhan mo ako ng gift! hehehe!

    • roland permalink
      April 27, 2009 3:19 pm

      ay sus! yun lang pala eh!

      padalahan kita ng isang kaing na napakasarap, napakatamis, napakacreamy (at higit sa lahat) ng napakamahalimuyak na durian!

    • April 27, 2009 3:21 pm

      eeeewwww!!!

      kadiri ka taba! ayoko ng durian!!!

      pomelo na lang please??? hehehe!

    • roland permalink
      April 27, 2009 3:27 pm

      ok

    • April 27, 2009 3:28 pm

      yey!!!

  12. April 29, 2009 6:34 am

    sowee late ako
    ehehe

    habertdey ulit
    (pang ilang greet ko na to? lolz)

    huwaw winks…
    you look refresh ah
    hmmm…

    • April 30, 2009 2:28 am

      oo nga eh! puro na lang greetings… wala man lang gift! hehehe! (aywavyu epfi!!!)

      ang gaan-gaan ng feeling with my new hair! (parang commercial lang ng rejoice noh?! hehehe!)

  13. April 29, 2009 9:17 pm

    Ate Winkie, super sorry leyt na ko nagyon lang nakabloghop *sniff, sorry na wag ka na magalit.

    Sabi ko na bagong haircut yun, kasi yung mga fechurs mo sa header long hair eh! Aylaket! Kamukha
    mo si Potchie hihi.

    Glad you had a blast on your special day. Pakilala mo naman po ako kay Winkie girl at baka bigyan niya din ako ng gift sa betdei ko hehe.

    Belated happy birthday mo, and again, sorry I’m late. hihi.

    *mwahugggs*

    • April 30, 2009 2:33 am

      oks lang, little sis joycee! huli man daw at magaling eh huli pa rin! hehehe! i know busy-busyhan ka lately dahil sa iyong blog pakulo🙂

      magkamukha na naman kami ni Potchie? hala, mapagkakamalan na naman kaming mag-nanay nyan! hehehe!

      sige sige, pakilala kita jan eh Winkie girl. malay mo, bigyan ka ng gift sa bday mo. hehehe!

      tenchu tenchu sa greetings!!! *hugz u back*

  14. April 30, 2009 9:07 am

    Hi Winkie (ay, close!)!

    Huli man daw at magaling, maganda pa rin hehehe

    belated! ngayon lang ako napasulyap sa blog mo….nahuli tuloy sa bati ng HBD🙂

    Di bale, mukhang you had a good day naman…

    happy birthday!!!

    • April 30, 2009 12:27 pm

      kikayness, isdatchu??? (feeling close din!)

      tenchu tenchu naman! korek, huli man daw at magaling eh maganda talaga… ganyan din ako! hahaha!

  15. April 30, 2009 10:36 am

    Winkie!
    Belated happy birthday. I am happy you got one of those in your wishlist.

    Nakakatuwa naman, napakasimple ng birthday mo. Walang kahanda-handa hehehehehehehe. Akala ko embayted kami eh hehehe

    • April 30, 2009 12:52 pm

      hehehe… wala nga talaga handa kaya sa labas na lang kumain, ms. N.🙂 imbayt ko sana lahat ng nsa blogroll ko kaso baka hindi makasipot lahat eh! hehehe!

      glad to see you’re back!🙂

  16. April 30, 2009 6:52 pm

    happy birthday gurl!🙂

    gift ko.. hahaha!

    http://awefullworld.com/?p=2250

    • May 1, 2009 6:24 am

      hahaha… ayos sa gift ah! tenchu AC… will do this one of these days.🙂

  17. May 1, 2009 4:26 am

    eto ang birthday gift ko sayo, hehe

    http://awefullworld.com/?p=2255

    • May 1, 2009 6:25 am

      and tenchu din sa blogger fwendship award. will post this on my sidebar🙂

  18. May 5, 2009 4:37 pm

    winkie!

    ano full name nung eric sa picture? who looks some kinduva family e hehehehehehe

    • May 5, 2009 5:31 pm

      kikay!

      ericson cabral. why, you know him?

  19. May 6, 2009 2:04 am

    nyahahahaha….oo classmate ko yan nung high school ako…sabi na nga ba e!

    • May 6, 2009 5:04 am

      hahaha… small world ah! ikwento ko ito sa kanya. hehehe!

  20. May 6, 2009 2:05 am

    ngayon ko lang napansin…(mejo napalakas ata yung suntok sa’kin kagabi)…dapat pala “he looks” hinde “who looks”

    • May 6, 2009 5:07 am

      kelangan talaga i-korek pa ang error? hehehe! oi kikay, i read ur latest post. grabeh naman at nasapak ka nga talaga. hope you are well now.🙂

      ill add you sa blogroll ko ah!

  21. May 6, 2009 6:05 am

    surelili….tnx tnx

  22. Jamie permalink
    May 6, 2009 6:05 am

    Belated Happy Birthday! Kakabalik lang namin from one of your favorite cities. Naalala kita during our Eiffel tower photo shoot🙂

    • May 7, 2009 1:25 am

      uy, umuwi pala kayo sa homeland ni hubby mo. nainggit naman daw ako. balang araw eh makakapunta din ako dun.

      hope to see your pics at friendster.

Trackbacks

  1. Birthday in HK – Day 3 « A Quick Peek into Winkie’s World

Leave a Reply

