Skip to content

Back in each other’s arms… maybe not!

April 22, 2009
tags:

For 40 days and 40 nights, I chose to deter myself from the top 3 things that I like the most. That was my Lent promise for this year. And these are the things that I tried to abstain from:

 

Shopping !!!

Photo credit: asecondchanceresale.com

I am a girl. So, my name is synonymous to shopping! LOL.

I so love shopping. I would normally end up having shopping bags in my hands whenever I make a trip to the mall. I’m not much of an impulsive buyer though. I only buy what I need… I just need a lot of things. LOL! And I try to shop within my budget… sometimes! LOL again.

Seriously though, I really tried my very best to abstain from shopping. I even tried to stay away from the mall for quite some time so as not to get lured by those uber-enticing signs that make my knees go weak. 

On the 21st day of my so-called shopping abstinence, I made a trip to the mall to pay my bills. And then wallah, there were red SALE signs plastered on every shopping window. The entire mall was on 50% off. Good heavens!!! I got weak on the knees. LOL! Too bad, I was with Mommy that time. My mom is such a bad influence on shopping. She would normally make me realize the savings I could get on those 50% marked down items. Ilang nanay ba ang kilala ninyong ganyan?! Hehehe! Since I love savings and I’m such an obedient duaghter, I easily gave in. LOL.

Sadly, I halfway failed on my shopping abstinence. So, sue me now! LOL! 

  

Coke… my first love!!!

Photo credit: yosoyblog.blogspot.com

I started my Coke addiction some 3 years ago. Uhmm no, it’s 5 years ago. Ooops, I think it’s 10 years. Wait… 15 years ago. Eer, 20 years ago??? Geez, I really can’t remember. All I can remember is that I can’t have a single meal without this soda on my side. So, giving this up is something of a big deal for me.

Right from the start, I knew I would fail myself on this one. But guess what??? I freaking did it!!!! I survived 40 days and 40 nights without soda!!! Yipee!!!

But two nights ago (which is way past the 40-day period), I had my first sip of uhmmm… Coca-cola! Well, I really had no choice but to satisfy my thirst with soda because we ran out of mineral water in the fridge. But hey, I limited myself to just one glass. That, too, was an accomplishment because back in the days, I could finish 1 liter in just one sitting. LOL! I plan to continue this no-Coke madness as I have now learned the joys of drinking ice tea, fruit shakes and water. I know I could not totally abstain from my first love, Coca-cola… but I will do my best to limit and minimize my soda intake. 

Let’s just see how long can I go on with this one.😛

 

  

Starbucks… Mocha Frap Venti!!!

Photo credit: Winkie’s camphone

I developed the habit of drinking Starbucks after a night’s out slash dinner with friends or simple I-crave-for-Mocha-Frap-becuase-my-lunch-was-way-too-bland. And this translates to 3 to 4 times a week trip to a Starbucks shop.

My Starbucks abstinence was somewhat of an easy task for me since I have already done this last year. I had the same Lent abstinence promise in 2008. And yes, I succeeded.

How about this year? Did I surpass the ordeal? The answer is YES. I did it again!

As I said, it’s a bit too easy to veer away from this scrumptuous tasting coffee… simply because it is freaking expensive. The price slash savings I could get from this encouraged me more not to step in any of  those inviting Starbucks shops. And as of this writing, I still haven’t grabbed a single cup of Starbucks coffee. Don’t you want to congratulate me for this? LOL.

But hey, I have an upcoming event a couple of days from now. So, I guess I will have the chance to get a sip of my ever fave Mocha Frap…. venti please!!! 

27 Comments leave one →
  1. April 22, 2009 4:42 pm

    Aym pers!

    Yey nakakarelate ako sa lahat ng addiction mo Ate Winkie! Dahil girl talaga ako.🙂

    Shopping: I’m trying to abstain myself na din from online shopping, I need to save up for my summer trips.🙂

    Soda: Sows lage ako nasesermunan ng mga kaibigan kong nurse dahil adik ako dito. Buti hinde na masyadu ngayon,

    Starbucks: Eto nagagawa ko lang pag lumuluwas ako since wala namang Starbucks dito sa Cavite, except sa Tagaytay na malayo naman din samen.

    You did a good job, Ate Winkie! I can say mahirap talaga yun iwasan pero you did it. That makes you my idol, wohoo! I’ll try din, emphasis on “TRY” wehehehe.🙂

    • April 23, 2009 9:41 am

      wow, naka-base si sis joycee!

      super relate ka ba sa post ko? hehehe! i will still “try” not to indulge myself with these things… kaso ung shopping eh mukhang malabo. hehehe!

      don’t abstain agad… gradually let go or minimize lang. we can do this, joycee! we can do this! hehehe!

  2. April 22, 2009 4:59 pm

    I am not a coffee and a soda person, but yeeeez, I love shopping too!! I tried to stay away from malls etc. but there’s nothing much to do here in the boondocks..so shopping here there and everywhere ang drama ko. I hate it. Pero I am frugal naman, in fairness to moi.

    Alam ko yang event couple of days from now, Happy Birthday Winkz!!!😀 Stay lovely my dear.

    • April 23, 2009 9:45 am

      so synonymous ka rin pala sa shopping, reese! we’re girls… girls are born to shop! lolz

      staying away from the malls is the best thing to do. once na makapasok na dun, sus, ang daming nang-aakit na mga items.

  3. April 22, 2009 8:40 pm

    I read a study that if you quit drinking coke permanantely youll lose like 40 pounds over a lifetime. You definetely have more willpower than me, I find myself at starbucks even when I don’t even want any coffee. Its like….its like…they cast a spell on me. :*( lol good luck though, this is really commendable!

    • April 23, 2009 9:46 am

      thanks for coming back, cello! starbucks is really good at casting spells on us. lol

  4. snglguy permalink
    April 22, 2009 11:03 pm

    Upcoming event? could that be your B-day? Me pakain ba? Hehehe😀

    • April 23, 2009 9:47 am

      opo kuya rudy! sige, meet tyo this weekend. treat kita🙂

  5. April 23, 2009 1:08 am

    parang mommy ko pag may sale.ewan ko ba sa mga girls.hilig bumili ng handbag at new dresses kahit hindi naman kelangan.hehe

    teka?anu bang meron sa handbag?para sakin,basta pwede mong paglagyan ng gamit,pwede na yan.haha

    pakiliwanagan nga ako ms.winkie.

    • April 23, 2009 9:48 am

      hmmmm… i have yet to research on that one, rye. will blog abt it. watch out. lol

      dami ba handbags si mommy mo? sabihin mo pag sawa na cya, pwede nya itapon sa akin ah! hehehe!

  6. April 23, 2009 6:27 am

    well i can challenge myself not to shop, drink soda and go to starbucks even for a year
    ehehe

    but dont let me be away from my camera and internet access for more than a day.
    mag aaway tayo
    lolz

    wahaha

    • April 23, 2009 9:50 am

      talaga epfi? camera and internet access lang? how about ***, can u live without it for a year or 2? lolz

    • April 23, 2009 12:28 pm

      ahmmm

      edit edit

      camera, internet and *** with girls, lots of them
      lolz

    • April 23, 2009 1:47 pm

      hahaha… napa-edit bigla!

      im not surprised to know, epfi! hehehe!

  7. April 23, 2009 6:45 am

    ako po tama na ko sa divisoria, hehe mga dresses at handbag ko eh made in divisoria pero kapag sale sa sm malls go ako hehe..pero iilan lang ang mga trip na branded ang nabibili ko mas gusto ko kasi mag movie time at mag mcdo lang sa mall,at mag arcade..
    ung coke pangtanggal din ng umay minsan hehe..pero bawal na sakin water na lang talaga ang juices,
    starbucks di pa naka expi kasi hehe..parang nahihiya ako pumasok at omorder dahil di ko alam kung ano bang kape ang mura lang hehe..:)
    can’t afford kape na lang sa bahay hehe..
    pero atlis ate nacontrol mo yng mga yan..lalo na ang coke pero di talaga natiis noh hehe..:)
    advance happy’birtday..mwah hugs..

    • April 23, 2009 9:52 am

      naku lovely, afraid na ako pumunta ng divi ngayon. may trauma ako sa snatch at pickpockets eh!

      hmmm… i think i will treat to you to starbucks one of these days. bday gift ko na lang yun sa yo. set tayo one weekend ah!🙂

  8. April 23, 2009 7:17 am

    Mocha Frap Venti is also my favorite! But i’m not a starbucks addict though.. kasi ang mahal. Tama. Mahal talaga ang Starbucks. Mahirap na panahon ngayon kaya mejo nagtitipid na talaga’ko. Anyways, Congrats U did it! hehe.😀
    And yeah u shud minimize or better yet avoid driniking soda na. it’s really not healthy. Have a happy day Ms. Winkie.🙂

    • April 23, 2009 9:55 am

      pareho pala gusto natin, mon! uu, mejo mahal nga ang starbucks. kaya advantage din for me not to buy coffee from them.

      and yes, im trying to minimize my soda intake. 8 years old ako when i got addicted to coke. since then, i have coke every meal. my close friends even tease me na coke na daw ang nananalaytay sa mga ugat ko. hehehe!

      a happy day to you too, mon!

    • April 23, 2009 2:52 pm

      mas masarap daw ang coffee ng dunkin’ at mas mura pa..:D

    • April 23, 2009 2:55 pm

      ay oo, reese! ibang level ang brewed coffee dun. i was a dunkin’ donuts girl… as in crew ako dun dati🙂

  9. April 23, 2009 10:48 am

    hangsosyalin pala ng mga inabstinence mo miss winkie. hehehe. ako nung lent, nagtatakbo lang akong hubo’t hubad sa bahay. un ang abstinence ko. abstinence from clothing. nyahhaha!

    • April 23, 2009 1:52 pm

      lol @ abstinence from clothing. di ba nga, nilathala mo yan sa blog mo?! may isa ka pang inaabstinence…. ung bonus item, hehehe!

      kalokah ka talaga, lio! hehehe!

  10. April 23, 2009 10:53 pm

    happy happy happyyyyy happy happpy birthday!!! enjoy this day wink! cheers to us! mwaah

  11. May 14, 2009 10:17 am

    I feel your pain on the Coke addiction front. Diet Coke is my nemesis. I used to drink almost a litre a day. That was many years ago, now I drink about a can a day, sometimes 2 or 3. Recently I decided to just give it up altogether…….yeh, I’ve heard that before.

    I think it’s actually affecting my sleeping. I suffer from hyper somulence, basically feeling VERY sleepy during the day. Almost narcoleptic, but not quite😉

    So my experiment is to not drink it at all for 6 months and see how I feel. Last time I gave it up cold turkey, I had a headache for a week.

    • May 14, 2009 11:18 am

      I still don’t drink much Coke up to now. I really have learned to veer away from it so I have developed the habit of drinking iced tea, fruit shake and water.

      I’m glad I didnt get to experience withdrawal symptoms like you did. I really hope I can continue this no-Coke practice🙂

  12. May 14, 2009 11:04 am

    I forgot to mention I now drink water out of a Diet Coke can. Man, do I get some funny looks at work. Still I’m more inclined to drink it then😉

    • May 14, 2009 11:23 am

      hahaha… those funny looks are not surprising at all. but why didnt i think of that? i should have done the same. LOL.

      btw, thanks for peeking in and welcome to my site. hope to see u again.

Leave a Reply

