Skip to content

My Easter Weekend

April 13, 2009

“Hi Winkie! Andito kami ngayon sa Antipolo. Punta ka. Dito tayo mag-Easter Vigil.” I got that message last Saturday from an older lady friend.

I replied with, “Sige po, punta ako. Sama ko si Mommy. Uwi ko lang po sandali itong ginrocery ko.”

She SMS-ed me back, “Ayan! Teka, punta kami ng bayan ngayon. Bilhan ko kayo ni Mommy mo ng ice cream.”

“Wow, ice cream! Ang sarap!!! Am so touched, Tita. Will go there in a while. See you later.” That was my last reply.

Well, two years back, I posted an entry entitled Going Back to my Old Haven. It was about a retreat house in Antipolo that I used to frequent back in the days. And last weekend, I went back to be part of the Easter Vigil with some people very close to my heart.

When I was in high school, I was part of a youth organization called Kabataang Lingkod ni Maria, more popularly known in its acronym, KLM. I was one of the youth leaders then. It was my own little way to serve God, the Church and the youth. And that lady who texted me was a teacher from a school in Laguna as a formator, otherwise known as ‘animator’.

Without batting an eyelash, I said YES to that invite. Took my Mom along and we travelled to Tahanang Nasaret in Antipolo.

Participating in the Easter Vigil Mass at Tahanang Nasaret is not new to me and my mom. We were always invited, uhm expected (I think this is a more fitting term) to celebrate Easter there. And even on other occasions like birthdays, ordination receptions, send-off parties and just about anything. I was always there. I really find comfort just being in that sweet serene place.

But as years went by and life gone way too busy, I gradually failed to allot some of my precious time. And I really can’t remember the last time I celebrated Easter in Tahanang Nasaret. Maybe 4 years ago. Or maybe more.

Easter Sunday is celebrated in such a many special ways there. So, it was really a heart-pumping event for me to go back to that place. Last Sunday’s celebration was a bit too plain and simple as compared those in the past. Just the blessing of the Pascal Candle and a concelebrated mass. But it didnt matter. The most important thing was the celebration of our Lord’s ressurection.

I’ll just let the pics tell you what transpired in that Easter Vigil. Pardon the photos, I forgot to bring my digicam. These were just taken my not-so-high-tech camphone.

Blessing of the Flame

Blessing of the Flame

Blessing of the Pascal Candle

Blessing of the Pascal Candle

Fr. Mark as the main celebrant

Fr. Mark as the main celebrant

Concelebrated Mass with Frs. Mike, Randy and Lawrence

Concelebrated Mass with Frs. Mike, Randy and Lawrence

 Just like any other Easter Vigil mass, it was a bit too long than an ordinary Sunday mass. And as always, we were asked to proceed to the center garden for a fun activity. What else… but the Easter Egg hunting! And as always again, I wasn’t able to find a single one. I’m really bad at that!

Since it was already an hour past 12 mid-night, Fr. Lawrence (OA sa kulit ang pari na itech!) asked us to spend the night there and just head back home the following  morning. Since I missed the placed a lot, I again said YES. (Ang dali kong mag-yes noh?!)  It then gave me the opportunity to check out the entire garden. There have been a lot of changes since my last visit. It was way too finished now. And here are my shots:

Center Garden (a shot from the Retreat House)

Center Garden (a shot from the Retreat House)

My two "moms" at the Center Garden

My two "moms" at the Center Garden

The Retreat House (a shot from the Center Garden)

The Retreat House (a shot from the Center Garden)

Stations of the Cross

Stations of the Cross

Clausura

Clausura

Pathway back to the Center Garden

Pathway back to the Center Garden

The Reception Area

The Reception Area

The Swimming Pool :)

The Swimming Pool🙂

Do I still need to explain further why I like going here and miss this place a lot?

So, that was my Easter Weekend🙂

 

13 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2009 11:25 pm

    Ang ganda naman dito Winkz!!

    I felt bad tuloy.. while everybody was spending a solemn week last week ako naman ay nasa sin city.😦

    • April 14, 2009 4:58 am

      Ganda talaga jan, Reese! I saw how that place blossomed into something like that. It’s been 20 years since I first step foot on that retreat house.

      Ok lang yun, Reese. You have a different mission this Lent… that is, to meet the Queen. May posted pics ka na ba?

  2. April 14, 2009 6:01 am

    nice pics.
    now im sad.😦

    pag uwi ko.. isa sa mga shoot plans ko is to take photos of all the 14 churches na nilalakad ko tuwing visita iglesia.
    and i will do that in one day, tapos lalakarin ko rin.🙂

    • April 14, 2009 11:42 am

      bakit ka sad, epfi?

      wow, thats interesting ah! patingin ng pics ah. magandang idea yang bisita iglesia sa buwan ng oktubre ah! at least di masyadong maiinit at crowded. whehehe!

  3. April 14, 2009 7:03 am

    retreat hauz ba talaga yan ate?parang resort.ganda…

    • April 14, 2009 11:44 am

      retreat haus yan, promise! ganda di ba? parang ang sarap mag-emote-emote lang🙂

  4. sandijmartin permalink
    April 14, 2009 9:31 am

    ganda! mukhang masarap mag muni muni…

    parang ang sarap maligo sa pool..

    may napuntahan na rin ako jan sa antipolo many many years back.. sa may maryhill at sa lugar dati ng ymc..

    • April 14, 2009 11:47 am

      ay sandi, dun nga yan sa maryhill at katabi nya ung YMC. di pa ako nakapunta sa YMC pero i heard maganda rin daw.

    • sandijmartin permalink
      April 14, 2009 12:34 pm

      hmm.. kaya pala parang pamilyar yung lugar..

      andyan pa rin pala ymc? buhay pa ba yung sem… nila dun?🙂

      anyway, salamat sa post na ito.. marami akong naalala ngayong oras na ito… maraming salamat!

    • April 14, 2009 12:56 pm

      as far as i know, andun pa rin ang YMC.

      you’re very much welcome, sandi. glad you liked this post🙂

  5. blurosebluguy permalink
    April 15, 2009 12:53 pm

    wow ang ganda naman ng iyong easter celebration…meaningful….peaceful…i love the place……happy easter sa yo!

  6. April 15, 2009 1:00 pm

    masarap talaga magcelebrate ng easter jan, blu.

    happy easter to you too!

  7. March 10, 2011 9:25 am

    hi.. member po ako dati ng KLM.. meron pa po ba hangang ngayon???

Leave a Reply

