Skip to content

Good Friday: We are the Reason

April 10, 2009
tags: ,

We are the Reason

Written by David Meece
Performed by Avalon

I couldn’t think of any song suited for this day. Same time last year, I posted this very song at my Friendster blog account as my Good Friday entry. And this is what I wrote:

I am not a preacher nor a catechist so I don’t feel I am  fit to post an entry about Lent. I just want to share a song very close to my heart. This song has been a part of my life… of my then-religious life when I was still very active in my youth ministry. For me, it encompasses the true meaning of Lent. It reminds us the real reason of the season… why our Lord Jesus Christ chose the cross to save us from our sins.

I’d like to quote a very nice comment I came across in youtube when I was browsing this inspiring video: “It wasn’t the nails that killed Him on the cross… but His love for you and me…”

Have a very meaningful lent, my dear friends! Let us spend some solemn moments with God. May God bless us all!

 

As little children
We would dream of Christmas morn
Of all the gifts and toys
We knew we’d find
But we never realized
A baby born one blessed night
Gave us the greatest gift of our lives

We were the reason
That He gave His life
We were the reason
That He suffered and died
To a world that was lost
He gave all He could give
To show us the reason to live

As the years went by
We learned more about gifts
The giving of ourselves
And what that means
On a dark and cloudy day
A man hung crying in the rain
All because of love, all because of love

I’ve finally found the reason for living
It’s in giving every part of my heart to Him
In all that I do every word that I say
I’ll be giving my all just for Him, for Him

He is my reason to live

P.S. I like the original rendition of David Meece better but just couldn’t find one with that audio background. To hear him sing this wonderful song, you may click here.

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. tino permalink
    April 10, 2009 10:41 am

    “jesus died from a broken heart”. why? pagnilayan nyo na lng not only in this lenten season but throughout all your life. GODSPEED!!!

  2. April 10, 2009 9:18 pm

    Anggaganda ng mga songs na pinopost mo Ate Winx.

    This song really tells us the true meaning of Lenten season.

    Godbless po.🙂

  3. sandijmartin permalink
    April 11, 2009 2:58 pm

    Winkie, tama si joycee maganda ang songs na nilagay mo sa loob ng isang linggo.

    Hapi Easter syo at syong pamilya!🙂

  4. prinsesamusang permalink
    April 12, 2009 1:56 am

    lent is a wonderful time to feel loved, especially by no less than God himself!

  5. April 12, 2009 3:55 am

    @ Joycee and Sandi,
    Thanks for appreciating the songs and am glad that you liked them. Happy Easter to you both!

    @ PM,
    I say AMEN to that! Happy Easter to you as well!

Leave a Reply

