Skip to content

Young Entrepreneurs

April 5, 2009

Earlier today, my mom asked me to buy lunch at the nearby carenderia as we ran out of gas. Just 15 to 20 paces from our gate, I saw these kids:

Young Entreprenuers

They were selling hot cakes and sago.

I can’t help but smile. That simple scene reminded me of my childhood. When I was  way younger young, I once occupied a small part in our street selling food. Just like those kids, I started my summer selling food.

My late father used to give me P50 as my start up capital. That amount of money was a bit too big for a 7-year old during my time. Or just in our community, I suppose.  Mommy would normally wake up before daybreak to buy the stuff that I would sell for the day. And as soon as she returns back home, she and I would set up a small table just outside our house that served as my little store.

My P50 capital would let me start my small business selling these things:

turnips (singkamas)

indian mango

indian mango

but of course, my indian mangoes are sold with bagoong

but of course, my indian mangoes were sold with bagoong

Samalamig

Samalamig

At the end of the day, Tatay would normally ask how my small business went. And I would always tell him that I wasn’t able to recoup my capital. When asked why, I would always say, “Tay, kinain ko po kasi yung mangga. Wala po kasing bumibili at malapit na pong masira.” Tatay would always get puzzled and end up giving me money again so I could buy stuff for my business the next day. Hmmm… am a bad business woman back then, I guess. LOL.

But as a young entrepreneur, I wasn’t satisfied eating selling food. I thought of maximizing my time and money so I explored on something else. A small portion of my capital was alloted to comic books. They were priced around P1.50 to P2.00 a piece back then. I hung them in an improvised sampayan and put my self-made signage that said “Komiks for Rent”. My same-day rentals were priced at 3 comic books for 1 peso while overnight rentals were at 50 cents a piece. And I asked for additional 25 cents/day as overdue fee. I was a strict comics rental girl. LOL. Of course, they weren’t DC and Marvel comics. I was a very poor kid so my money slash capital only allowed me to buy these:

 

While eating mangoes attending to my so-called store, I would also read those komiks just to pass time. Talk about multi-tasking, eh?!  But there’s one comic book that I liked reading a lot. It was no other than Funny Comics.

Pinoy kids of my generation would probably know about this or have once read this thing. I was allowed to read Funny Comics then because of the idiomatic expressions listed at the last leaf of the comic book. Tatay wanted me to read those to enrich my vocabulary. But I always end up not reading that page. LOL. I got hooked buying it on a weekly basis. If memory serves me right, Funny Comics were released every Friday. And my weekends were spent reading every single page of that comic book. My fave were Planet of the Eyps (Matsustu rocked!!!), Lilit Bulilit and Niknok.

Well, that short glimpse of the young entrepreneurs outside our house took me down nostaligia lane. It reminded me how my summers were spent as a child. Those sweet times when there was nothing to think about but to enjoy the warm summer months out in the streets… and be just a simple kid.

 Photo credits:

www.marketmanila.com, www.kusinerausa.babettesblog.com, www.pelikulaatbp.blogspot.com

www.komiklopedia.wordpress.com, www.pinoyexchange.com, www.gerry.alanguilan.com

www.pbase.com, www.mayniladailyphoto.blogspot.com

21 Comments leave one →
  1. April 5, 2009 10:30 am

    Base! hehe.
    ang sarap ng samalamig!😉
    grabeh ang dami mo palang raket ng bata ka pa. galing! ako din na-experience ko magtinda ng Ice Candy sa kanto dala-dala ang ice bucket when i was in in Grade 5 or 6 para may baon the next day. yes it was tiresome kasi ang init but it was a fun experience. sinadya mo ba yung “Kokims for Rent” na signage?😉

    • April 5, 2009 10:32 am

      base ka jan!

      hala, business boy ka rin pala nung bata ah! enjoy naman magtinda di ba?

      hay, nag-eedit pa kasi ako. ang bilis mo magcomment. napalitan ko na noh?! hehehe!

  2. April 5, 2009 12:10 pm

    me too..when i was young, naks napa english ako. pero young parin din naman ako ngayun, i used to sell banana ques in our village. Was a young entrepreneur too thats why I wanted now to start my own buiseness..Mas mabuti kasi na walang boss…ahehhee..

    I also love to read funny comics..at si niknok! ha haha…that damn boy is so funny. Nakikibasa lang akos a frend ko…my mom dont want me to buy that kasi sayang lang daw kasi ang pera. nauuwi sa komiks.

    • April 5, 2009 2:00 pm

      selling banana que in your village! wow, ang yaman nyo, taga-village ka. kami gillage lang! *corny* me too, someday, ill own a business. someday soon!🙂

      who doesn’t love niknok? ang kulit nun eh! bulol pa! wala kasi akong nahihiraman ng funny comics kaya binibili ako ni tatay. hehehe!

      welcome to my site, maldito! balik balik ka ah!

  3. Mr. Nonsense permalink
    April 5, 2009 10:30 pm

    i did those same things. I also sold masks (that my dad and I made) and sandwiches. I also rented out comics and game & watch. Plus of course palabunutan. I made up a few of them that were rigged myself. I know, mandaraya. Buko ako one time.

    • April 6, 2009 12:11 am

      hala jesse! salbahe ka, nandadaya ka ng palabunutan. i never engaged in those kasi i know di naman ako mananalo. hmmm… mayaman kyo, may game and watch rental ka! hehehe!

  4. April 6, 2009 2:14 am

    weee..kaya pala isang successful executive na si ms. winkie ngaun…blame it on her young entrepreneur spirit…ngayon lang ako nag ka entrepspirit eh..young pa din naman atang matatawag yun kasi young at heart pa din ako..

    buti nga kahit hindi mo ma recoup ang capital mo, hindi naman napupunta sa masamang pagliliwaliw ang summer mo noon..

    • April 6, 2009 5:39 am

      sinong successful exec, vanvan? naku, struggling office girl pa rin ako. it’s still a long way for me.

      yep, bata pa lang ako nagbibiznes na ako. lumaki ako ng may tindahan at karinderia kaya ganun. adik kasi ako sa mangga kaya nilalantakan ko ung mga tinda ko. hehehe!

  5. azul permalink
    April 6, 2009 3:37 am

    di ako nakapagnegosyo nung bata pa ko…pero natry ko magtinda ng cheese sticks dati..ayun lugi kasi mga buraot kapatid ko.hehe

    funny komiks hmmm yan ang pinapapraktisan kong basahin dati nung kinder pa lang ako..si tomas at kulas ang una kong binabasa..tas yung mga trivia sa gitna o huling page..hehe

    • April 6, 2009 5:41 am

      hahaha… buti na lang at wala akong kapatid kundi malamang nangungupit din ng tinda ko un. hehehe!

      wow, inabot mo pala ang funny comics. kasi di ko na kilala sina tomas at kulas. 2nd gen na ata yan eh. hehehe!

  6. April 6, 2009 5:34 am

    cute naman. bata pa lang biz minded na.

    if you would be around my vicinity that time. siguro isa ako sa mga patron mo sa funny. yeah niknok is the man! lolz

    sana lang may soft copy compilation ng all funny komiks
    ehehe.

    maganda ka sigurong biz partner.
    on the other hand… baka naman malugi biz natin.🙂

    • April 6, 2009 5:44 am

      ay korek epfi, tindera ako pag summer nung bata ako.

      funny comics fan ka rin pala? oo nga, sana may soft copy. but i dont think so. pero check mo ung link sa entry ko. the writer written a lot abt funny comics eh.

      hehehe… iba na ang panahon. i dont take chances ng lugi. sayang naman ang pagiging product loan officer ko sa bank. hehehe!

  7. April 6, 2009 2:48 pm

    hahaha! nakakaaliw naman tong post mo ate. anong panahon ka ba ipinanganak at parang ang laki pa ng value ng 25cents at piso nung araw? kase ako 90s kid eh. wahahhaha joke!😀

    pero ang galing. bilib ako sayo.

    pero sige na nga.. aamin na ko.. naabutan ko din ang FUNNY KOMIKS at paborito ko yun. dun nga ba si Eklok o si Niknok Manok? tsaka si Alpha Omega. ahihihi.. ewan ko ba, tama ba pinagsasasabi ko. hahaha!😀

    • April 7, 2009 4:06 am

      wala nang tanungan ng year of birth, AC! basta inabot ko ang mga murang bilihin, hahaha! actually, malaki na ang 25 cents sa akin nung bagets ako kasi madalas singko lang binibigay ni tatay pambili ng kendi. equivalent siguro nung ngayon eh piso. hehehe!

      yep, si Niknok Manok ung sa Funny Komiks. mahilig nga cya sa manok. hehehe! Si Alpha Omega eh nababasa ko din nun, pero di nya ako fan. ke mastustu pa rin ako! hahaha!

  8. April 6, 2009 3:16 pm

    nahuli ako..tsk..tsk..tsk..

    kids should learn how to make their own money..kahit sa maliit na bagay..like nito.. so that when they grow up they’ll be independent..to say the least.

    i have my own share of being a cute tindera noong bata pa akech..hehehe.. sumasama ako sa nanay ko nagtitinda ng shorts..😀..at kung ano-ano pa.. at commission-based ang salary ko..nyahahaha..

    • April 7, 2009 4:10 am

      yeah, i think so too reese. and kids will also learn the true value of money and hardwork. i was raised in that way by my parents. so at an early age, i learned things abt independence and hardwork.

      pero di ko nasubukan yang maglako. tatay did not allow me. ayaw nun ng nalalayo ako sa bahay so my ‘little store’ is set-up just outside the house.

  9. snglguy permalink
    April 6, 2009 3:18 pm

    Nobody is a born businessman or woman, kasama ang pagkalugi sa negosyo. The important thing is, na-instill sa yo ang entrepreneurial spirit. Negosyo ka ulit, yung five-six naman, para kalabanin mo yung mga Indians, hehehe…

    • April 7, 2009 4:13 am

      ay korek kuya rudy! nalugi ako jan sa mangga venture ko kasi naman nilantakan ko ung tinda ko. hehehe! but in all fairness, parang mejo maayos ako sa business. i have tried some in the past at kumikita naman ako. i wasnt able to sustain them though because of work sked. maybe someday… i might put up a business of my own🙂

      lending? nasubukan ko na yan. but of course less than what those indians charge. i don’t wanna be tagged as loan shark. i do it the bank way, monthly add-on interest and with collateral… ATM card, that is. hehehe!

  10. April 10, 2009 6:37 am

    grabe sobrang busy ko.ngayon lang ulit ako naka pagblog hop.sensya na.

    aba funny komiks.nag smile ako sa entry na to kasi naalala ko si niknok.idagdag pa natin si pitit.hehe

    • April 12, 2009 4:06 am

      ok lang rye. it’s understandable🙂

      hala, alam mo din ang funny comics? hehehe! si niknok talaga top-of-mind pag funny comics pinag-uusapan. hehehe!

  11. monnica permalink
    February 2, 2010 1:58 pm

    hi der..galing naman..im also a bizzness woman..can u help me on mu samalamig bisness,mag start palang ako..can u give me a recipe for halo-halo and buko pandan samalamig..

Leave a Reply

