Skip to content

Movies That Make Me Cry

March 23, 2009

I have a habit of turning on the telly as soon as I arrive home. And as always, I would click the remote to either Star Movies or HBO. Today, I clicked the latter. Mel Gibson’s The Partriot was on cable. It then gave me an idea to make this post.

I’m a sucker of movies. I used to watch all the currently shown films in SM Cinema every weekend. It was like having a movie marathon. Not on the couch though but inside the movie house, hopping from one moviehouse to another. Yep, ganyan ako kaadik dati. But now, I can enjoy it at the comfort of my own sofa together with some popcorn pirated DVD. LOL!

But I wanna share with you a little secret of mine. I’m a movie weeper. Yep, you read it right… semi iyakin ako sa mga uber dramatic and touching films. Apparently, there are some movies that pinch my heart and certain scenes that really make me cry. And eventhough I’ve watched those films a million times, I still cry over those scenes and leave my cheeks wet with tears.

Here are the top 5 movies that make me cry. (Please pardon me, am having a hard time posting the vidz -I’m really not very techie- so just click your way to youtube to see the clips.)

The Patriot

Benjamin Martin (Mel Gibson) was about to leave the refuge camp, his daughter Susan (Skye McCole Bartushiak) called him “papa” for the first time.  He hurried back and hugged his daughter so very tightly and Susan said, “Please don’t leave. I will say all the words that you want to hear, just don’t leave. I love you, Papa.”

Oh well, crying over this one is not very surprising as I normally weep on scenes that involve a dad and a daughter.

Click here for the movie clip.

 

 A Love Affair

It was months after that failed Empire State meet-up, Michael Grambil (Warren Beatty) paid Terry McKay (Annette Bening) a visit on Christmas Day. He just dropped by to say goodbye and handed the gift his late aunt left for her. And when he was about to walk out the door, he mentioned about the painting he did for her and since Terry was not able to make it to their Empire State date, Michael left the painting at the hotel which was later given to a cripple young lady. While he was trying to narrate the details of that sad experience, Micheal eventually realized that the cripple lady was in fact Terry McKay. They both hugged, kissed and begged forgiveness from each other. Then Terry said, “Michael, it doesn’t have to be a miracle. If you can paint, I can walk.”

For me, this scene simply summarizes the entire film.

Click here for the movie clip.

 

 Love Story (by Erich Segal)

Jenny Cavalleri (Ali McGraw) was dying in the hospital with leukemia. Oliver Barrett IV (Ryan O’Neal) arrived and was just informed by the doctor that Jenny’s illness is really making her weak. The couple spent their last moment together inside the hospital room and Jenny asked Oliver, “Will you please hold me. I mean, really hold me, next to me.”

 Click here for the movie clip. 

 

Bicentennial Man

Andrew Martin (Robin Williams), a robot-turned-human, was in his death bed together with his wife Amanda Martin (Embeth Davidtz).  Their congress/council was about to announce Andrew’s acceptance to the human race and was officially acknowledged as the oldest living human at the age of 213. However, Andrew died before the council leader uttered that good news. The nurse attending to the old couple then turned to Amanda and said, “Too bad, he wasn’t able to hear it.” And Amanda said, “Maybe he doesn’t need to.” 

 movie-bicentennial

(Sorry, no available clip on youtube.com)

 

Independence Day

In the midst of saving the world, Russelle Casse (Randy Quiad) offered his full service to the US President (portrayed by Bill Pullman) by covering up for him and lauching the last missile. But upon learning that the missile got jammed, Russelle did the most unimaginable thing, sacrificed his life to destroy the alien spaceship. Miguel Casse (James Duval) was at the control station and witnessed the suprising heroic deed his father made to mankind.

 

(Pardon again, no available clip)

So, if wanna watch these films with me, just make sure you brought me loads and loads of tissue.😛

21 Comments leave one →
  1. March 23, 2009 6:17 pm

    looking back at how absurd independence day was I can’t lie that when I saw it in theaters 13 some odd years ago, the whole theater was choked up at the dad flying into the ship scene…myself included lol Great post!

    • March 23, 2009 11:29 pm

      hahaha! and so you dig that scene too.

      thanks for the peek. hope to see you again.

  2. March 23, 2009 9:07 pm

    waaa.. parehas tayo..im such a weeper… basta may iumiiyak sa scene.. iyak din ako.. sometimes nga..inuunahan ko pa yung character sa pag-iyak..

    yung humagolgol talga ako is the movie “I am SAM”. super iyak talga ako. at kagabi lang, I watched Pride and Glory starred by Edward Norton and Collin Ferrel — as in bumaha talga ng luha ang apartment namin.. you should watch it gurl.. it is super nice.

    at ito yung di ko makalimotan talaga na pinagtawan ako ng mga kapatid ko.. umiyak ako sa cartoon movie na Tarzan at saka Mulan.. hahaha..

    at noong weekend din nagwatch kami ng MMK ng bf ko.. umiyak din ako ng sobra tapos pagtingin ko sa bf ko.. umiiyak din sya.. lol!

    puede ata ako mag-artista sa babaw ng luha ko.. hahaha..

    • March 23, 2009 11:32 pm

      i missed I Am Sam but i heard it was really a good one. i’ll try to grab a copy of that and Pride and Glory. mapanood nga sa Holy Week.

      katawa naman, pati Mulan at Tarzan eh iniyakan mo. i don’t normally watch MMK kasi alam ko mabigat talaga sa dibdib ang mga stories dun, hehehe!

      pag may opening sa Star Movies, apply ka Reesie. im sure pasok ka sa drama category. hehehe!

    • March 24, 2009 3:51 am

      hahahaha… apply talaga? pang-horror lang ata ako..lol

    • March 24, 2009 1:44 pm

      ay mali ba ang term ko? dapat ata “ma-discover”… hehehe!

  3. azul permalink
    March 24, 2009 3:52 am

    nakakaiyak nga po ate yung part na yun sa patriot…

    • March 24, 2009 1:45 pm

      ay sinabi mo pa azul! bumabaha talaga ng luha pag dyan na sa scene na yan.🙂

  4. March 24, 2009 6:14 am

    hmmm… im not a movie weeper
    pero para sa akin isa sa pinaka madrama is yung AI.

    wawa naman si kid robot dun. haiz

    • March 24, 2009 1:46 pm

      ay type ko din yang AI, epfi. kaso parang once or twice ko lang cya napanood. kaya hindi masyadong top-of-mind sa akin. pero ganda nga ng story nyan.

  5. March 24, 2009 6:58 am

    Sa lahat ng movies na nilista mo, The Patriot lang at Independence Day ang napanood ko. That scene wherein the father sacrificed his life to destroy the alien spaceship and he said “Tell my children I love them very much…”

    • March 24, 2009 1:48 pm

      eh pano naman, old films ung dalawa. i dont think makakarelate ka dun. di mo generation, hehehe!

      tama yan nga ung statement ni Randy Quaid. tinamad na ako magresearch kagabi nung sinulat ko to, antok na ako eh. pero ang tanda ko eh yung “Hello boys, I’m back!!!” hehehe!

  6. March 24, 2009 7:02 am

    @epfi: I agree. Yung AI talaga made me cry like a little boy inside the movie house. That scene wherein he was abandoned by his “mom” in the woods… waaahhh!! tear-jerking talaga yun..

  7. bibongObisis! permalink
    March 24, 2009 11:43 am

    wala ba dyan ung “The Notebook” tsaka ung “The Break up” or “If Only” man lang? Hehehe..

    • March 24, 2009 1:50 pm

      ah walang paki-alaman! list ko ‘to! hahaha!

      di ata ako naiyak sa “The Notebook”, nainlove ako dun! LOL! nasa iTouch ko kaya yang movie na yan🙂

  8. March 24, 2009 7:14 pm

    isasama ko sa list na yan ang:

    Jack – Robin Williams/Fran Drescher/JLo
    Deep Impact – Elijah Wood/Leelee Sobieski
    John Q – Denzel Washington
    If Only – Jennifer Love Hewitt
    Inang Yaya – Maricel Soriano

    • March 25, 2009 12:21 pm

      ay gusto ko din yang Jack. fave ko si Robin Williams eh. anu ba yang If Only na yan? parang napanood ko na rin ata… baka di lang ako naiyak. hehehe!

      di ko napanood ang Inang Yaya… Tanging Ina lang, pero umiyak ako dun, hehehe!

  9. snglguy permalink
    March 25, 2009 2:43 pm

    I cannot recall if I have blogged about this but, the only movie that made me shed a tear was actually a comedy, “Planes, Trains and Automobiles” starring Steve Martin and the late John Candy. Check it out, especially dun sa last part of the movie…

    • March 25, 2009 3:11 pm

      Why not blog about it, Kuya Rudy? I just googled it, 1987 pala. I haven’t seen that one. Hope I could grab a copy soon… and buy more tissue too! LOL.

  10. April 13, 2009 11:43 pm

    Ha Ha Ha, Don’t cry yaar, anyway ‘some water came from my eyes’ while I am seeing Independence Day.

Trackbacks

  1. Let’s talk movies… « The Incurable Pessimist

Leave a Reply

