Skip to content

Happy Year of the Ox

January 27, 2009

It was indeed a happy Chinese New Year’s celebration at work yesterday. I came in a bit late (in fact, I came early as usual, LOL!) and saw a bunch of officemates, close to a hundred pax I guess, all lined up at the ground floor lobby. I initially said to myself, “Darn, the elevator is broken again! Haba ng pila ah!” Then I recalled, “Oh yes, it’s Chinese New Year!” So, I hurried to my workstation, settled my bag in my mobile, dragged my colleague and went back down to join in the celebration.

But before joining the pile of colleagues, I passed by the altar-like area which was plagued by incense wishers. Of course, I wouldn’t let that chance pass by so I grabbed a stick, lit the incense and put it in a bowl full of sand. Sabi magwish daw, kaya habang tinusok ko sabi ko, “Boyfriend lang po!” Kuha pa sana ako ng lima for the same wish para matupad talaga! Hehehe!

Our Socials Committee did their opening salvo activity with a bang as there were dragon dance and laughing Buddah. (My apologies, I wasn’t prepared. Just took pics using my ever-lowtech cellphone :-P)

That's the Dragon Dance at the lobby.

And the Dragon went inside our Main Branch to bring more blessings and fortune.

And the Dragon went inside our Main Branch to bring more blessings and fortune.

And another one, dancing outside the office for some festive feel.

And another one, dancing outside the office for some festive feel.

I guess, any Chinese celebration wouldn’t be complete without those fortune cookies. So, I grabbed one and hoped to have a better fortune this year.
This cookie holds my fortune.

This cookie holds my fortune.

And when I cracked the cookie, I found a white paper inside that said: Willingness to compromise is often a sign of great strength. Then I though, “Ok, not too exciting message.”

One department head approached me and said her message doesn’t fit her. I read her fortune and asked her that we exchange fortunes. Her’s said: Prepare yourself for a grand time. An admirer steps up to make your heart soar.

Oh di ba naman, I fulfilled my first fortune. I did compromise with my colleague and got a better fortune (as far as I’m concerned). LOL!  Besides, they say that it’s better to make and choose your own fortune… so I now choose to stick on that 2nd one! Makes sense, eh?! LOL!

And as they say in Chinese, Kung Hei Fat Choi!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 28, 2009 6:00 am

    Kung Hei Fat Choi Winkie!

  2. January 28, 2009 11:32 am

    Hmm, di kaya para sa yo talaga ang fortune cookie ng dept. head niyo, at nagkapalit lang? Hehe😀

    Anyways, Dragon baby ka naman di ba? So maswerte ka pa rin pag dating sa pera, kaya okey lang siguro kahit wala munang boyfriend, hehe

  3. January 28, 2009 1:20 pm

    @ King,
    Happy Chinese New Year to you, too!

    @ snglguy,
    Actually yan na nga lang din inisip ko, nagkapalit lang kami. Hehehe!

    Oo nga, sabi Dragon babies will enjoy continuous blessings this year. Am keeping my fingers crossed on that. Hmmm… di ba mas masaya kung may money na, may lovelife pa! Hehehe!

    Kung Hei Fat Choi, Kuya Rudy! Asan tikoy ko?

  4. January 28, 2009 10:47 pm

    Ay sori! Walang nagregalo ng tikoy this year, pati sa Chinese community feel na rin ang recession, hehe.

  5. February 13, 2009 2:34 am

    Dahil late comment ito…
    Let me just say: Happy Chinese New Year for 2010.
    O ‘di ako ang una for next year.
    Laban?

  6. February 13, 2009 11:22 am

    Ok ah, around 350 days kang advance sa greetings! Whehehe!

    Ayan ang napapala ng busy… late sa comments!😛

Leave a Reply

