Skip to content

January 2009 Calendar

January 2, 2009
tags:

It’s my second year to purchase this special inspirational calendar from the Salesians and just like last year, I shared it to select friends and relative as my gift to them. And as promised in one of my blogs, I will continue on sharing with you each of Joey Velasco‘s painting as my monthly opening salvo.

So now, here’s the January painting:

 

Hele

Something within tells me not to receive communion at that 3:00 pm Sunday mass. I felt gripped by a sense of shame and deep turmoil. As I warmed my bench, I saw three young men, all with Down Syndrome, stand up from different pews and fell in line to receive the Eucharist. I whispered to my wife, “Buti pa sila mangungumunyon.” She smiled and just looked at me, “Ano, ipe-pain mo na naman sila?” More than the visual interest, I closed my eyes and wanted at that moment to enter their world.

With the distinct line across their palms called Sydney palmar line, the received the Host. They have small hands and short fingers but their touch can move the unmovable, and thaw the coldest of hearts. I noticed that they have different shades of almond eyes that only seek the goodness in people; they are neither cynical nor judgemental. Their mended little hearts love unconditionally and forever. All these years, I thought that they just have extra chromosomes, only to discover the gracious reality that they are extraordinary children loved by God.

– Joey Velasco

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

As I was typing this entry, I had short recollection on that great story about those special kids. I’m really not new to kids like them. When I was in grade school, I was personally exposed to and had direct contact with them. It was then when I realized that they are indeed very special. And I have always thought that their innocence make them extra-special.

Just like artist Joey Velasco, I also hope that we all have the same innocence… I guess, it’ll make life a little less complicated.

Happy January and a blessed 2009 to all!

 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2009 4:00 pm

    Those are great looking set of calendars. Mukhang mahal ah. On the subject of special children, I know a few people who have one in their family. Saludo ako sa kanila and I really admire their patience. Because despite the difficulty of caring for one, especially if one is neither rich nor well-off, they still considered it their sacred duty as parents to raise them in a loving environment, rather than putting them in a special home.

  2. January 2, 2009 11:03 pm

    Apparently, very affordable ang calendar. I got my from work as the company I work for supports the Salesians. It’s priced P95 a piece and portion of it goes to Salesian’s Out-of-School Youth Program. May pang-gift na ako, nakatulong pa ako, Ok, di ba?

    I feel the same for the parents of these kidsas well. I know some too and they never considered having one as a burden but rather a blessing and special gift from God.

  3. January 3, 2009 5:52 am

    Yup, ok nga, Wish I could have know about this earlier, ito na lang sana ang pinangregalo ko, hehe.

    Unfortunately, for some parents, the only reason why they even cared for children with disabilities like Downs Syndrome is purely for selfish reason, because they believed na swerte daw pag me anak na ganyan. Eh papaano kung di sinwerte? itatpon na lang?

  4. January 3, 2009 7:01 am

    Snglguy, kuripot ka rin katulad ko? Hehehe! Seriously, it’s a nice Christmas gift talaga. Very inspirational. I just hope my friends and relatives appreciated it. May sobra pa ako, bigyan kita. Hehehe!

  5. January 3, 2009 3:08 pm

    really? meron pa? nakakahiya naman kung ireregalo mo, bilhin ko na lang, hehe… we sorely need calendars in our house. Kuripot na rin yata ang mga banks ngayon since we have yet to receive any calendar from them. I recall the times when halos malunod kami sa kalendaryo taon-taon, but this year it’s different, wala man lang na kumpanyang namigay… hay, signs of the times.

  6. January 3, 2009 7:49 pm

    no worries, i got some from our advertising department. sobra from our giveaway supply. you should have banked with us, sana nabigyan ka ng kalendaryo. hehehe!

    prob is, i don’t know how to give it to you. LOL!

  7. January 3, 2009 9:10 pm

    Hmm, paano nga kaya? Sana kung may milyones akong maidedeposit o kung pang open man lang ng bagong account, hehe…😀

    Anyways, I’ll think of a way on how to get my hands on that calendar…

  8. January 6, 2009 12:02 pm

    muntik akong mahiyang mag-comment.
    akala ko, private chat box niyo ito ni snglguy. he he.

    @snglguy: salamat sa pagiging bagong suki ng aking siopawan ha. naku! parang gusto ko na mag-selos… dati ako lang ang ang suki dito kay winkai e. biro lang!

    i am a fan of joey velasco myself. he has the phenomenal gift of merging art & deep spirituality (not to mention theology). i actually have a priest friend who knows him personally. hope i could meet him one of these days.

    winkai, saan ang regalo kong calendar?
    kala ko papa-FedEx mo? {o ‘di ba mas mahal pa sa kalendaryo}

  9. January 7, 2009 4:58 am

    ano ka ba, padre! wag kang magselos noh?! lam mo naman aylabyu… o walang auto-bold dito ah! blog ko ito! hahaha!

    pansin mo, parang ginawang YM lang yung comments section di ba? heheheh!

    yung calendar mo andito lang. tago ko na lang muna, bigay ko sa yo sa december!😛

Leave a Reply

