Skip to content

My 2008 In A Nutshell

December 30, 2008

I made a similar post last year so I thought of making another one as my year-ender entry.

Year 2008 was equally amazing for me. There were lots of trips that were really unplanned. New friendships that were developed. Abrupt changes in the professional arena. And a lot more other random things that are worthy to share.

And so, here is my 2008 in a nutshell:

January

  • Got nominated and chosen to be part of my company’s Real Changed Leaders (RCL).
  • Took Mommy to Bohol for a short vacay. Traveled with Nikki and Danny

February

  • Segued a Cebu trip from the Bohol Vacay
  • Went on an official business trip to Naga City, Bicol to conduct a product presentation to AFFI and PFA members.

March

  • Fell in love with… DAVID COOK! LOL!

April

  • Experienced my first Management-mandated transfer from LPMD to CBG.
  • Had my passport renewed… and it was way too easy!
  • Spent 3 days in Baguio with Mommy to celebrate my big day.

May

  • Spent Mother’s Day at Manila Ocean Park with Mommy and Potchicay.
  • Went to Pampanga for our first RCL-stint.
  • Ecstatic with David Cook for winning the American Idol title… LOL!
  • Attended the company’s summer outing at Splash Island.

June

  • Went to Hongkong with some friends from church and work. Had a blast at HK Disneyland despite the freaking bad weather.

July

  • Zzzzzzzzzzz… such a lazy month. Can’t think of anything done this month. I’m not sure if I was working real hard… or hardly working. LOL!

August

  • Met some new friends… I won’t tell from where! LOL!
  • My HK photo got published in Cosmopolitan magazine (not on the cover though, but I was on page 14, whehehe!) and won myself a new Nokia 6300 (err, it’s Mommy’s phone now)
  • Maynilad finally installed water in our community. No more waiting-for-water-in-the-middle-of-the-night for Mommy and me. Yey!

September

  • Had an exciting studio photo op courtesy of Mr. Adonis Yap. Eto yung nag-feeling model ako! Sana may kasunod pa! Hehehe!

October

  • Celebrated Mommy’s birthday at North Park, Glorietta with Dhang, April, Potchie and Pam

November

  • Took Mommy to Singapore for her post-birthday celebration. Nikki, Jing and Alann tagged along🙂
  • Got myself a new toy… iPod Touch!😛

December

  • Just lazed around…
  • and lazed more…
  • and more…
  • and more…
  • and more!
  • Finally decided to do some Christmas shopping mid-December and braved Plaza Miranda… LOL!
  • Attended the company’s Christmas Party at the SMX
  • And still…. lazing around while writing this! LOL!

Oh well, it wasn’t as fruitful as last year, I guess. But my 2008 was darn exciting. I never imagined I got to travel that much this year. I hope to do some other travels in 2009… probably within Asia again. Eh wala naman kasi akong visa and enough moolah to travel to other continents, hehehe!

But just like last year, I have something far better to cherish than those trips, new gadgets, being a celebrity for a short while (pagbigyan nyo na ako dito sa isang ‘to, hehehe!) and those new items I got myself. What I value the most is another year of friendship with you… may it be online, SMS or chat over coffee. I feel more blessed whenever I think of the relationships I have with my so-called “friends”. As I always tell myself, “I am not financially rich but I’m darn rich with good friends around me. And I feel so very blessed to have them in my life.”

And so, as the year ends, please allow me to THANK YOU FROM THE BOTTOM OF MY HEART and WISH YOU A MORE BLESSED 2009. May the Good Lord grant us more love, peace and happiness in the coming year!

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. December 30, 2008 10:11 pm

    isa lang masasabi ko mare….. lakwatsera!!! hehehe…. peace! anyway, happy new year to you and your mom!!!😀

  2. December 30, 2008 11:25 pm

    Hmm, from what I’ve been reading it had been a fruitful year for you Winkie. Travels in and out of the country, new gadgets, new friends, etc… now compare that with the boring, near-stagnant life I’ve been living this past year I’d say you’re are quite blessed this past year. You’re on a roll girl! Here’s to more trips and new gadgets for 2009…😀

    PS: I just dropped by to check on my comment and whoa! You just posted din pala. You’re probably one of the few bloggers I know who posted an entry today… di ka rin bored kagaya ko ano?😉

  3. December 31, 2008 3:11 am

    @ Russ
    Ay sis, alam mo naman man, part-time banker and part-time lakwatersa ako… hehehe! Happy New Year to you and your family too! Hope the two cute boys will be healthier in 2009.

    @Snglguy
    I just wanted to do a similar year-ender post po. Oh sige na nga, I was bored and had nothing to do. So I thought ot making an entry. LOL!

    Thanks for the well wishes… I really hope for more travels and gadgets in 2009! (Sana BF na rin! Hehehe!).

    Cheers to you both, Russ and Snglguy!

  4. December 31, 2008 3:55 pm

    BF? Hmm, malay mo, may umaaligid-aligid na diyan, Seriously though, when the time comes, it will hit you (figuratively speaking of course) like lightning on a clear day, unexpected kumbaga.

  5. December 31, 2008 3:56 pm

    Oh BTW, I just updated my blogroll, and I included you na rin. Hope you don’t mind…🙂

  6. January 1, 2009 2:03 am

    Oo nga daw po. As the saying goes, it will come when you least expect it. Eh years and years ko na cya na least expected… ang bagal dumating! Hehehe!

    Ay salamat ng marami, Sngl. I really feel honored na maisama sa blogroll ng isang pro-blogger na katulad mo. Thanks thanks a bunch!

    More power to you!

  7. January 1, 2009 5:09 am

    Pro blogger? Hehe, I’m hardly one, since I’m not getting paid to write my rants and raves. Sarap sana kung kumita ako, but I doubt if anyone would be foolish enough to shell out a buck or two just to read my inanities, haha. Anyways, writing is just an outlet for my frustration and my blog is the medium. Don’t know how long it will last though.

    And speaking of blogs, why don’t you migrate to WordPress? It’s a lot easier to maintain and hindi pa sila stingy sa bandwidth. You can still import all your old posts and comments so nothing will be lost. If you decide to do so and need any assistance, just holler…

  8. January 1, 2009 6:16 am

    Ay paid posts ba ang basehan ng pagiging pro-blogger? Kala ko popularity at pagalingan sa English… you qualify to both eh! Hehehe! You have a nice site… otherwise, I wouldn’t go back to read more. LOL!

    A friend already invited me to migrate to wordpress. Mababa lang naman po readership ko, so I’m still thinking about it. Kaso nga, I noticed may bandwidth limitations ang Friendster at malapit ko na sya mapuno *weep* Sige po, if I decide to move to wordpress, you’ll know… kukulitin po kita!😛

  9. January 1, 2009 7:35 am

    Paid posts are usually about certain products and services, kinda like an endorsement which in my opinion is ridiculous since even the so-called pro bloggers don’t know a thing about the products they are writing about, nor have even used them… hehe.

    Popularity? Malayo pa ako doon. My blog would hardly qualify as popular, kilala lang ako sa mga rantings ko, haha. As for English proficiency, ah well… I do have my “carabao English” moments too, hahaha.😀

    Sige, once you’re ready for that big move just email me so I can guide you, and show you some of the blings you can put in your blog.

    Oh and, please, wag mo na akong i-po po… lalo lang akong tumatanda niyan eh, hehehe.

  10. January 6, 2009 12:05 pm

    hanep!
    puro lakwatsa at gadgets ang highlights of 2008!
    ang saya-saya naman ni mader… super sosi!
    may HK na… may SG pa!

    woi, bakit wala sa JUNE ‘yung kitakitz natin?
    {nakisingit ba?}

    ALL THE BEST FOR 2009 WINKAI!

  11. January 6, 2009 12:08 pm

    @SNGLGUY…. paki-convince nga si winkai na lumipat na sa wordpress…. super tagal ko na ‘yan kunukulit e.
    minsan super bagal na dito sa FS e {rant ba ito? he he}

    cheers!

  12. January 6, 2009 5:28 pm

    Yup, super slow nga eh. I sometimes fall asleep waitng for it to load, hehe

  13. January 7, 2009 4:50 am

    @revsiopao,
    hala, oo nga noh?! i failed to include the ordination thing. hmp, di naman kasi kahighlight-highlight yun! bwahaha!

    @rev and sngl,
    oo na, lilipat na po… anytime soon! paturo pa ko ke snglguy. hehehe!

Leave a Reply

