Skip to content

If he were with us today…

December 26, 2008
tags:

… I am quite sure that my and my mom’s life would be far different.

In November last year, I made an entry entitled Happy Father’s Day. It was my first-ever entry about my father. Tatay’s birthday is celebrated every end-November… 30th of the month, that is. This year, I failed to post an entry for him as I got too busy last month. And so, I thought of making one right after Christmas… his 18th death anniversary.

I know this post will be a bit too different with that of other blog posts as most bloggers are busy posting hapy stories about Christmas family gatherings, gift-giving, out-of-town Christmas vacays and all those fun things people do during Christmas break. For the past 18 years, the month of December is a bit different for me and my mom as we normally go the cemetery to pay Tatay a visit a day or two after Christmas. (I guess it’s better that way than Tatay visits us in our house. That would be kinda freaky, LOL!)

Well, if you have read my old post about Tatay, he was killed the morning after Christmas and died at the night of December 27. Oh yes, we still had to go through an almost-24-hour mixed emotions of pain, suffering, hatred and hope. But from the looks of Tatay back then, hope was nowhere near to be found.

I have always wondered how our life has been if Tatay were still alive today. I’m sure, our house is filled with more laughters as Tatay and I were extremely close. I’m also certain that life inside the house is way much easier for both my mom and me as Tatay is the best handyman that I have ever known.

So really, what if he were still with us today?

I guess…

… I have also taken Tatay to those out-of-the-country trips and they will be more meaningful to me.

… I have also given Tatay some good shopping-spree so he won’t need to ask for used clothes from his brothers and nephews.

… I have also encouraged Tatay to enter those grand malls like Glorietta, Shangrila, Greenbelt, Gateway and MOA without feeling ashamed of our status in life.

… I have also showered Tatay with things that he has ever wanted. And yes, including those packs of Philip Morris eventhough  Mommy and I endlessly asked him to try to stop smoking.

… I have also let Tatay experience drinking coffee at Starbucks as he was the first-ever coffee freak that I have ever known. I’m just not sure though if he’ll try Frapuccinos as he’s one hell of a black coffee drinker.

… I have also made Tatay darn proud of what I have become. Besides it was Mommy and him who molded me to what I am now. And whatever I have today, I owe every bit of it to them.

But if Tatay is really with us today, I bet my and my Mom’s Christmases would never be the same and be far more special.

I really wanted to write more but I have to cut this short now as I am in tears writing this entry.

And to you Tatay, I sooo miss you!

 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 27, 2008 6:37 am

    Hi there Winkie, it’s my first time commenting here and I have to say that this is one touching post for your late Dad.That said, I’m sure your father would have appreciated the gesture, but even if he is not around anymore (physically that is) the mere fact that you’re taking care of your Mom means that you are honoring his memory.🙂

    Oh and thanks for the visits and comments. Belated Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

  2. December 27, 2008 11:18 am

    Hi Sngl, thanks for the visit and taking time to comment on this post. I feel flattered with your comments. Thanks so much.

    Happy New Year to you too!

  3. December 30, 2008 6:24 pm

    Oh don’t be flattered, Winkie, it’s really admirable that inspite of your busy life you still find time for your Mom. It’s rare to see such devotion, especially from a daughter, nowadays. And don’t worry, I’m sure your Dad is smiling down on you this very moment saying, “That’s my girl!”

    Have a safe and peaceful New Year…🙂

  4. December 31, 2008 8:43 am

    Thanks Snglguy. I just feel it’s apt that I return all my mom’s hardship back…. Mommy has been both a father and mother to me when my Dad was taken away from us. I really admire my Mom’s strength, courage, disposition and patience when we had to undergo that dark part in our lives and all through out my college days. I’m no perferct daughter though… I just try to be a good one🙂

  5. January 6, 2009 12:15 pm

    Winkai, you know that your tatay is always in my prayer list.
    May his soul rest in peace.

    {psst! sabihin mo sa kanya, kahit huwag na siyang magpasalamat personally ha.. he he}

  6. January 7, 2009 4:44 am

    Thanks so much, Padre! It really means a lot to me and Mudra.

    Talked to Tatay kanina lang… he insists, mag-tenkyu cya sa yo in person. Hehehe!

Trackbacks

  1. On remembering dads… « A Quick Peek into Winkie’s World

Leave a Reply

