Skip to content

Art Works at the Mall

September 22, 2008

For those of you who have been consistently reading my blogs starting January of this year, you already know that I normally start my month with a religious artwork by a Salesian artist by the name of Joey Velasco. The paintings are showcased in my special 2008 calendar. Each painting has a story to tell and those are perfectly written by the painter himself.

Earlier this day, before going back home and while strolling in Glorietta, I came across a some sort of a program. I saw people swamped at the second floor of the Glorietta 4. I tried to squeeze in a bit.  I found out that it was an art exhibit slash project launching. The emcee then announced the unveiling of the biggest art work. And this is what I saw:

 

Prior to the unveiling, I heard the emcee anounced a familiar name… very familiar that I get to encounter that name at the work place on a daily basis. Well, the guest of honour was no other than but our company’s president. Then, I tried to zoom in and further scrutized the painting from afar:

Hmmm… familiar painting, I thought. I checked out the other artworks and yes, the styles all looked familiar to me. I further confirmed my assumption when I saw our official Salesian chaplain at the lower ground of that G4 wing.

Well, I guessed right. All those insipring artworks were done by no other than artist Joey Velasco. The art work exhibit was simultaneously done with the launching of the 2009 calendar.

I guess you’re thinking it’s too early to sell 2009 calendar, right? Not for the Salesians. They usually do this ahead of time. I got my 2008 calendar during the same season last year. Honestly, I bought copies for charity reasons as portion of the proceeds went to a scholarship foundation for the out-of-school youth. One Salesian’s successful projects.

My limited number of copies were shared to some very close friends and relatives as Christmas gift last year. The calendar was a very simple gift… but I hope that those paintings as well as their respective stories brought hope, faith and inspiration to those select friends and relatives.

Well, I’m certain that I’ll buy a couple of copies again this year… and I’m sure that I will continue on with my habit of sharing each and every painting as my opening salvo for the month. I hope that you’ll not get tired of seeing those wonderful paintings and reading those inspirational stories in the coming year.

I think the exhibit will be there for a while. So, for those who want to see the paintings, pay them a visit at Glorietta. Buy some calendars na rin. It’s for a good cause.🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

