Skip to content

Don’t mess up with my singlehood, ok?!

September 10, 2008
tags:

Early in the afternoon today, I received a text message from a high school classmate asking for confirmation of our kitakitz. I simply replied my regrets as I have other more important events to attend to this weekend.

The kitakitz confirmation then transpired into personal updates. This HS classmate told me that his wife has left the country some months ago and is now working as a nurse in Europe.

He then commented, “Pero malungkot din pala pag wala si ****. Lalo na siguro pag kinuha na ang mga bata… mahirap din mag-isa lalo na pag nasanay ka na may kasama ka sa house. At least ikaw, sanay na! Hehehe!”

I (again) felt different about the last statement. And (as always) my reply got clouded by my “sungit” nature. So I replied back, “Salamat sa insulto ah! Isa kang tunay na kaibigan.”

Then he texted back, “Ahahaha! Joke lang po! Peace tayo ah! Mabaliw-baliw na kasi ako sa house.”

And I replied back, “Just don’t mess up with my being single at peace talaga tayo. Besides, one good thing about being single eh wala akong pinuproblemang asawa!”

Gosh, I’ve gone overly sarcastic with my last reply. My apologies to all married people.😦

I don’t know if I got too sensitive with my classmate’s statement or just simply growing old and grumpy. Hahaha! I guess, the latter is a more approriate answer. Hehehe!

Well, this simple incident reminded me of some experiences I had with other friends in the past. Apparently, one was with another HS classmate who threw me this question, “Hindi ba kayo (also addressed to other equally-single and unattached friends) naiinggit sa amin? Masaya magka-asawa at anak?”

So, what would you expect? I got pissed off! Knowing that this HS friend is too darn scared of her hubby, I sarcastically replied, “Alam mo hindi ako naiingit. Una sa lahat, wala akong kinatatakutang asawa. Pangalawa, nakakapunta ako sa lahat ng gusto kong puntahan nang wala akong pinagpapaalaman. At pangatlo, 8250 ang cellfone ko!” This happened some 8 to 10 years ago, so my 8250 was a top-of-the-line gadget. And my HS classmate had 5110 back then. Bad ko noh?!

I have some other experiences similar to this but let’s limit the story to these two for the meantime. I don’t want to completely showcase my overly sacrastic side… Hahaha!

So again, I have a simple request… please don’t mess up with my being single, ok?! Or else, I wouldn’t think twice throwing a sarcastic reply on you… LOL!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. September 12, 2008 8:40 am

    hi there!nice post here very candid!oppps dont worry i will not mess up with your single blessedness. lol! significance and fulfillment comes from within not outside!not from other people but from within us! so enjoy your SINGLEBLESSEDNESS while you can. take care!

    so what model do you have now?just kidding!

  2. September 12, 2008 3:49 pm

    hi esouled, thanks for dropping by and taking time to comment on this post.

    well, 8250 pa rin ang cell phono ko. just kidding too! hahaha!

  3. September 12, 2008 5:15 pm

    hello winkie! how are you?it’s my pleasure!btw, thanks for the add and for joining my community!

  4. jopet permalink
    September 15, 2008 6:58 am

    aray ku pu… ang taray ng lola ko! patawarin po kaming may mga aswang, este asawa pala.

  5. September 15, 2008 7:16 am

    @esouled
    hi there too! im great. hope all is great with you too. already visited your site. seems like youre a pro-blogger (unlike me! :-)). very nice site! i enjoyed reading as well🙂

    @ jopet
    hahaha! full-time sungit at taray talaga noh, bes?! hehehe! sabi ko nga, apologies po sa mga married people. naglabas lang po ng sama ng loob! hehehe!

  6. Fritz permalink
    September 18, 2008 9:43 pm

    Hey Winkie,
    This is Fritzie [Honey]…old girlfriend from HS…

    It’s funny, but I find myself always amused by your blogs. Your super taray on this one…but definitely called for. I’ve been married for 9 yrs now…and never would I ever comment like that . Not all married couples are happy…actually, most of them are miserable. OUCH!!! If I were you, I wouldn’t pay them any mind…because comments like that are just plain ignorance. But hey I’m curious to find out who made those comments…HS classmates??! hmmm…
    Keep it up girl!!

  7. September 19, 2008 4:04 am

    Hi Honey… ay Fritzie na pala! Kelangan talagang may introduction slash reminder ng friendship history? Hehehe! Glad to know that you are having fun reading my posts.. and thanks for spending time with them🙂 I think I have written somewhat similar posts about singlehood in the past and the theme, or rather my sungit and taray factor, are of the same level… hahaha! Well, I know you are too careful and tactful to make comments like this🙂 And yes… HS classmates! You know them well girl! LOL!

    Guess, you’ll also have fun reading some of the comments on the same post at my multiply site. Here’s the link… kontrobersyal sya, LOL!

    http://winkie24.multiply.com/journal/item/59

  8. jopet permalink
    September 19, 2008 1:30 pm

    hi bes! i checked out the thread in your multiply link, aliw! ang saya ng mga comments. seryus yung ibang mga tau. hahahaha!! pag may other posts ka dun, patingin ulit ha. aliw talaga.

  9. September 19, 2008 9:05 pm

    ei bes! sinabi mo pa! nalurkei ang byuti ko sa mga comments dun especially from a schoolmate who is way older than me. seryoso sila sa buhay! hehehehe!

    actually, i post the same entries both in friendster and multiply. mas active lang ang commenters dun. well, i welcome any comments naman eh. just visit my other page from time to time. it’s http://winkie24.multiply.com

  10. jopet permalink
    September 23, 2008 4:42 am

    thanks bes, i’ll try to drop by and multiply, este SA multiply, to check out the comments. aliw. sha, have a great week!

  11. February 3, 2009 10:20 pm

    hello winkie…thanks for dropping by 🙂

    ‘daaay, exactly my dilemma, pero deadmaru na ko sa mga ganyang banat, ang iniisip ko na lang eh at least ako hinde namumrublema sa pera hahahhaha

    hurray to singleton!

  12. February 4, 2009 12:49 pm

    at nahagilap mo pa talaga itong post ko, chuva? hehehe! oh well, it was really called for kaya napatulan lang. i dont normally make “patol” on those kinds of “hirit” anymore. maybe, i woke up on the wrong side of the bed that day.

    oh yes, hurray to singleton! adbans hapi balemtyms! hehehe!

Leave a Reply

