Skip to content

September Calendar

September 1, 2008

Img_1897                               

I Thirst

Pogi Boy comes from Violago near Payatas; he sells empty bottles of mineral water. I chanced upon him in a kiddie party whre well-to-do children intermingled with poorer ones. IT was a potluck party with ice cream, cakes and spaghetti galore. The poorer kids also brought their won food-to-share. I noticed Pogi Boy pathetically mingling with the better-off kids snub Pogis’ wided-opened recycled paper bag of bischotcho. Helplessness engulfed me as I felt the boy’s sadness. I asked Pogi Boy if he brought coffee along to down his biscotchos. He smiled. I will never forget that outstretched arm, offering…

                                                                                  – Joey Velasco

No comments yet

Leave a comment