Skip to content

My Best Christmas Gift

December 28, 2007

Unconditional love. Outpouring friendship. Quality time with family. These are just few of the best Christmas gifts I received this year. Eeewwww! Serious stuff!!! Di ata bagay sa akin to say those words, hehehe! Oh well, I’ll stop the crap. I’m not going to be too mushy today. This entry is simply about a special Christmas gift I received from a friend.

It was the last workday for the year 2007 today. It was the last chance for my generous friends to send over their Christmas gift for me. Hehehe! True enough, Ate Mirza, a friend from my former youth organization, texted me and asked for my office address. I instantly knew that she intended to send something for me.

Few minutes after her text message, I stepped out for a while to freshen myself up. And when I returned back to my work station, I found a nice red pouch on my desk. One of my co-workers told me that it was sent by a certain Mirza. The red pouch was somewhat see-through so I could get a glimpse of the gift inside. It was a CD. As I was taking it out from the pouch, I murmured "Oh shit!" five times. And it’s not just any other CD. It’s a Jesuit CD… a special Jesuit Christmas CD entitled "Pamaskong Tanging Yaman". For years now, I have been a fan of Jesuit music particularly Fr. Manoling Francisco’s and Arnel dC Aquino’s compositions. To give you a clearer idea of what I am talking about, the songs Sa’yo Lamang, Tanging Yaman, Panunumpa and Hindi Kita Malilimutan are just few of their compositions. Non-Catholics might not have any idea of what I am trying to tell here.

Anyhow, to continue on with my story… I again said, "Oh shit!" for the last time when I saw the actual CD. It has a hand-written dedication by Fr. Manoling himself, and it simply said,

     "Dear France,                                                                        

                  God bless!                                                                

                              Fr. Manoling Francisco"                                                 

Words could not express how happy I was to see Fr. Manoling’s CD with his hand-writing on it. It was just a simple gift. A simple CD. But it was indeed the best gift I received this Christmas.

Thank you so much, Ate Mirza!

Img_1806_1 

                                                                                                                                                                                                                        

                                                            

=========================================================

And to those who generously gave me gifts this Christmas, THANK YOU AS WELL! Your sweet thoughts  also made my Christmas extra special.                                                                                                                                              

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

