Skip to content

Too tired of that silly question…

June 1, 2007

Whenever I see friends or relatives, they always ask me one question: "May asawa ka na ba?"  This silly question sometimes tire me that I want to scream the moment I hear those words.

What’s even worse is when people tell me that they are somewhat confused why I’m still unattached… eh maganda, sexy at smart naman daw ako. (Uhhmm-uhhmm, those were ‘actual’ compliments po… I didn’t pay them to say those words, huh!). This, on the other hand, makes me feel that there is something wrong with me.

Yesterday was no different. I bumped into an old friend and the first thing she said was "Oi kumusta? Wala ka pa ring asawa?" Good thing, I was in a very good mood, otherwise sarcasm would cloud my answer. (Thanks to Mr. Bean and he kept me in a good mood longer than expected <wink!>)

This is the same reason why I sometimes hesitate on attending reunions or gatherings. I’m getting tired of this question. It really sound like there’s nothing else I could do with my life but to get married… and that getting married will assure me of my happiness in life.

Well, in fairness to my friends in couplehood, most of them have happily married lives. But marriage, from what they tell me, is not as easy as 1-2-3. Every single day is a struggle to make their marriage work. At some point or another, they get to experience problems. Some even experienced unbearable problems that the first solution they could think of is to get out of the marriage. So, it only means that marriage does not assure anyone of a happily-ever-after life.

I am not saying though that I am completely satisfied with my singlehoold… but just FYI, I’m enjoying every minute of it. Being single has its own perks. Just to list a few: I get what I want at my own pace, I can buy things for myself without any guilt, I can go to places without asking permission from anyone, and I can live my life the way I want it to be. Not to mention, I have lots of spare time to share with family and friends if they need me in an instant!

But of course, these things will not go on forever. Someday, I may (or will) have to leave this singlehood behind to share my life, my dreams and my future with someone who is willing to be with me until eternity. But if destiny says that my life will be spent in singlehood forever… well, I think I will just have to savor all those perks or my so-called "freedom" for the rest of my life.

So, next time you hear someone asks me that are-you-married-query, please don’t get shocked if I scream back at him/her/them. I’m just too tired… too damn tired of that silly question!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 2, 2007 12:59 am

    Mabuhay ang mga “single” PA!!!
    (ngek… for life na nga pala ako… he he).

    Aba at ni-career ko na yata ang mauna palagi sa pag-comment sa mga blogs mo ha. Magtayo na kaya ako ng “Winkie’s Blogs International Fans Club”?

    Happy weekend! c”,)

  2. June 2, 2007 5:28 am

    Mangareer ba ng blog comments, Jhoen?!?!?! Don’t worry, kunin kitang president ng Fan’s Club ko ha!🙂 Well, I’m just posting some personal feelings na hindi alam ng nakararami. Tsaka, napa-practice ako ng writing skills.. kaso ang ‘jologs’ kong magsulat eh! Hehehe!

  3. June 18, 2007 7:00 pm

    Hahaha!!! It’s going to get worse Winks as days pass!;)

  4. June 21, 2007 6:05 am

    Hay naku! When you get married the annoying question will turn into –‘when are you having kids?’ Tapos, ‘kelan susundan?’🙂

  5. July 1, 2007 7:54 am

    Amen to that Winkie. Sometimes watching movies alone is more fun and enjoying…”Autobots Rule!” Hehehe!

Leave a Reply

