Skip to content

Going Back To My Old Haven

May 29, 2007

It’s been quite a while since I last visited this very serene place… a place that gave me comfort and strength… a place full of promise and blessings… a place where I felt I am a member of a very big loving and caring family.

I am talking about Tahanang Nasaret in Antipolo. A seminary slash retreat house owned and administered by the Alagad ni Maria Priests and Brothers.

Well, just look at thi picture to feel its serenity🙂

 

 

For some personal reasons (too personal, I guess!), I decided not to visit Tahanang Nasaret eventhough I am expected to be present in several ocassions. I missed this place for almost 5 years.

But last Saturday was a different scenario. I needed to pay the place a visit. I had to bid Father Tomas Naval, one of my respected priest-friends, goodbye as he leaves for California.

I had lots of important memories with this place for it molded me to become what I am today. Well, not the silly-and-naughty-me but the other side of my personality. This place has shaped my faith in God… it helped me discover and know myself well… it enriched me to understand the people and things around me.

Although a lot of people left this place for one reason or another, their memories still linger on. Every single memory comes back to me whenever I sit at the porch simply looking at the grotto in the heart of the garden. Fond memories of good ol’ friends. Sad experiences that made the past more worthwhile to remember. And lots of emotions… outpouring emotions shared to some special persons who once dwelled in this place.

Truly, Tahanang Nasaret is a very special place for me.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 30, 2007 2:23 pm

    (background music) “Muling ibalik ang tamis ng….”… Haayyy… sarap bang magbalik-tanaw Winkay?! Hehehe… Promise, kahit pilitin ako ng ibang mambabasa ng blog mo hindi ko sasabihin sa kanila ang “some personal reasons” na iyong nabanggit… Peace!

    Espesyal din sa akin ang Tahanang Nasaret lalong higit at naging bahagi ng aking paglalakbay sa pagpapari ang ‘Alagad ni Maria’. Ganyan din ang aking naramdaman ng kami’y mag-reunion noong 2005 bago ako lumipad patungong Roma. Naligo ka ba sa pool? Sana nakuha mo ang magiging telepono o adress ni Padre Tomas sa Tate para naman madalaw ko siya doon (wish ko lang… he he!)….

    O ayan, buena mano na naman ako sa comment! c”,)

  2. May 31, 2007 4:51 am

    As expected, Jhoen, you’ll be the first one to comment on this post. Well, you’re one of the few who can relate to this article as well as the place. Yung “some personal reasons”… well, it’s part of the past now… but will definitely forever be a part of me. I want to keep it that way, though.

    Of course, I was able to get Fr. Thomas’ contact info.. kaso di ko ibibigay sa yo… libre mo muna ko sa Starbucks!🙂

    Di ako naligo sa pool… kahit buong araw akong pinipilit ni Fr. Law. Sorry sila, di ko dala 2 pc ko!🙂

  3. September 15, 2007 3:48 am

    God i miss our”home’ ate as much as i miss everybody else especially you.

Leave a Reply

