Skip to content

On My Being Single and Having High Standards (daw!)

May 17, 2007

Most of my friends tell me that I put the bar so high…. the main reason why up to now, I haven’t found my better-half yet. Well, here are some of my defenses against the accusation of me having such high standards.

First and foremost, I am not looking for Mr. PerfectI am simply waiting for Mr. Right! I am not perfect myself so I don’t think I am entitled to find Mr. Perfect. I would define Mr. Right as the guy who would take, accept and love me the way I am… someone who would complement my personality as well as my flaws. He is the guy who will complete me…. who is willing to fill my empty hands with his.

Still sound vague? Well, if you want to drill down on details, here is my idea of Mr. Right. However, I don’t want to tag this as my checkilist of requirements… but more of a guide! Some are negotiable though! Hahaha!

So, here it goes:

  • Catholic. I am not what they call a “religious” person but I try to be an active and obedient member of the Catholic community… besides, it’s just a once-a-week thing! Although, sometimes, I have my share of absences! Bad ‘ol me! Seriously, it is very important for me that we share the same faith…. and this is something not negotiable! I always believe that “faith (in God) is the foundation of all relationships”.

  • Good to look at. Physical appearance is somewhat important for me, too. However, I plainly termed it “good to look at”… thus, I am not hoping for a Tom Cruise or Brad Pitt look-a-like. Hey, I’m fully aware that I am not as pretty and hot as Katie Holmes or Angelina Jolie! I just want someone I can look at for hours without getting high on drugs! Just kidding! I simply want someone who is presentable…. someone I could do HHWWPSSP while strolling at Glorietta! Is that too much to ask??? Besides, I want to have good-looking kids someday. And I don’t want to be accused of contributing ‘junk’ to the society! (Soooooo sorry for the term, I really can’t think of a better word for ‘junk’)

  • Independent/Professional. I have worked hard to be where I am now so I would expect Mr. Right to have done the same thing for himself, too. This is not an issue of stature but of proving something to one’s self. This, too, is a not negotiable!
  • Smart and Practical. I am not much into genius guys as they would only make me feel dumb! I would rather go for a simple yet smart guy… someone who knows how to deal with the realities and practicalities of life.
  • Responsible. Do I really have to explain this further? The word is self-explanatory! I guess, no one wants to be with someone who is not responsible… and I’m talking about family and money matters here, huh?!
  • Courageous. My personality is strong… actually, too strong that other people find it quite intimidating! Well, I may look unapproachable but I don’t just growl on people if they want to talk to me. I’m just a typical snobbish-looking girl. So, it would really take some brave guys to actually get through that first level of knowing me.
  • Strong but Sweet. Being strong for myself and the people around me is sometimes taxing…both physically and mentally! Tao lang din po ako! I also need a break! Sometimes, I want to have someone who can be strong for me… someone who will decide for me… someone I can depend on when I’m at my weakest. Be strong for me at all times as I would do for him. Strong enough to tame me down but knows when to inject a dash of sweetness to allow some cuddling moments to happen!

  • With Good Sense of Humor. I really like to exchange good laughs and endless fun with friends… I think it would be more fun to share one-hell-of-a-laugh with Mr. Right! And if he knows how to put on a good joke… well, that’s definitely a big plus point… maybe, additional 50 ‘pogi’ points!
  • Outgoing. Sharing a common interest will go a long way. So it’s necessary that we share something in common. I consider myself as an outgoing person so it would mean a lot to know if Mr. Right enjoy things that I like… which means, I will likewise enjoy all the things that he like.
  • Older than me. Not too old though! 3- to 5-year gap would probably do! Hahah! I really do not know the rationale behind this one but guys younger than me instantly turn me off. As I said, I don’t know the reason why… so don’t dare ask me, ok?!
  • Non-smoker. No valid explanation…. for kissing purposes only! Hahaha!

Lastly, he must be SINGLE! This one is definitely non-negotiable!😉

Oh, just for additional info, I did not include any height requirement here anymore… to pave way for guys who are shorter than 5’8″… hahaha!

So there, I finally laid it out! Now tell me, do you still consider me as a “girl with high standards”???

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 17, 2007 3:26 pm

    What else can I say?…
    Ayan hija, nauna na naman akong nag-react dine. He he!

  2. May 27, 2007 8:40 pm

    Pareho tayo ng first sa criteria. Hehehehehe.

  3. June 5, 2007 7:25 pm

    Sister, di ko alam kung nasend ko na sa yo 2. Pero try mo ring basahin baka mabawasan ang requirement mo.

    Subject: The Husband Store

    A store that sells husbands has just opened in New
    York City, where a woman may go to choose a husband.

    Among the instructions at the entrance is a
    description of how the store operates. You may visit
    the store ONLY ONCE !

    There are six floors and the attributes of the men
    increase as the shopper ascends the flights.

    There is, however, a catch…you may choose any
    man from a particular floor, or you may choose to go up a
    floor, but you cannot go back down except to exit the
    building!

    So, a woman goes to the Husband Store to
    find a husband.

    On the first floor the sign on the door reads:

    Floor 1 – These men have jobs and love the Lord.

    The second floor sign reads:

    Floor 2 – These men have jobs, love the Lord, and love
    kids.

    The third floor sign reads:

    Floor 3 – These men have jobs, love the Lord, love
    kids, and are extremely good looking.

    “Wow,” she thinks, but feels compelled to keep going.

    She goes to the fourth floor and sign reads:

    Floor 4 – These men have jobs, love the ! Lord, love
    kids, are drop- dead good looking and help with the
    housework.

    “Oh, mercy me!” she exclaims, “I can hardly stand it!”

    Still, she goes to the fifth floor and sign reads:

    Floor 5 – These men have jobs, love the Lord, love
    kids, are drop- dead gorgeous, help with the
    housework, and have a strong romantic streak.

    She is so tempted to stay, but she goes to the sixth
    floor and the sign reads:

    Floor 6 – You are visitor 4,363,012 to this floor.
    There are no men on this floor. This floor exists
    solely as proof that women are impossible to please.

    Thank you for shopping at the Husband Store. Watch
    your step as you exit the building, and have a nice day

  4. June 6, 2007 5:15 am

    Yes Dencio! I’ve already read this story so many times. Di mataas standards ko… if I were in that store, I would have stopped at the 3rd floor. With those guy’s qualities eh good buy, este, good catch na po yun noh?!🙂 Btw, san nga itong Husband Store na ito? Hehehe!

  5. May 19, 2009 5:31 am

    hi, i wouldn’t say you have really high standards, just right😀 i think i sorta fit the bill, haha.

    • May 19, 2009 8:48 am

      that’s what i think, too. but my friends keep on telling me otherwise.

      really? u think u fit the bill??? well then, maybe we should meet. lol. *just kidding*

      thanks for the peek. hope to see you again🙂

Trackbacks

  1. I’m Shoppin’ Men « A Quick Peek into Winkie’s World
  2. He’s out of my life… « A Quick Peek into Winkie’s World

Leave a Reply

