Skip to content

Too Much Blessings

April 26, 2007

April 24, I celebrated my 31st birthday. I opted to stay at home and be with the closest people in my life: my mom, nieces and nephews.

I was surprised to have special visit in the afternoon. My best high school buddy dropped by to celebrate the day with me. Imagine, I was visited by a friend who is based in California?! That’s really something, huh?!

Lots of friends, close and not-so-close ones, sent me greetings. Each message, each greeting brought a smile on my face and made me feel special on that very day.

My day simply ended… no grand celebration… no fancy dinner… no special someone!

But despite all these, I felt so much blessed! I felt the outpouring love of the people around me… my most caring mom, my precious niece and nephews (who i call my children as I still don’t have children of my own), and my friends who have embraced me and took me as part of their lives.

My birthday was indeed a reminder of God’s gracious blessings to me.

April 25, I was back to reality. I went back to work. I was immediately called in by my boss. I was expecting follow-ups on my pending work due to my birthday leave. But I was wrong. My boss just wanted to personally greet me her belated birthday greetings… and she gave me one of the best gifts ever! My boss broke the good news… I was promoted!

As I left the room, my heart was overflowing with joy. I was in cloud nine for quite sometime. I immediately texted my mom the good news… she was very happy for me.

When my day at work ended, I immediately rushed home. Little did I know, another surprise was waiting for me. My little children prepared a small surprise party! A beautifully designed hand-written banner was hanging from the ceiling saying, “Congratulations, Tita Winkie!”.  Neon-colored confetti flew all over the room as my children hugged and kissed me. I somehow felt that I made them all proud.

It was overwhelming! The love is truly overwhelming.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 26, 2007 9:49 am

    Love truly “moves in mysterious ways” Winks. I am very happy for you my friend. Congratulations on your recent promotion. I thin you deserved it. Kudos!

  2. April 26, 2007 11:17 am

    Galing naman lola ko!! wOW blow out ka naman! hehehehe

Leave a Reply

